Tyler Galaska's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 13 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tyler’s full profile.

Overview

  • 19 references 15 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Woodworker/Designer
  • Some College
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I finally have a place of my own, so I'm trying to give back to this community!

I like to challenge my comforts and face my fears to try and understand why they exist. One of the best ways to do this for me is traveling.

I live a very fast paced and busy life. Outdoors and meditation are where I find my peace.

I try my best to live a balanced life and stay in touch with nature.

My partying days are finished. I get along better with people who's focus is not going out to the bars. There's much more to do with the little time we have.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Bringing fresh experiences and helping my fellow travelers in anyway possible. I have local trail maps, and lots of knowledge of my city, and I've done multiple day hikes around the United States that I would love to share about. I love accomodating people who are brave enough to be who they really are or those who are just setting off on that adventure.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

CouchSurfing has giving me faith back in humans. It is truly a beautiful thing I enjoy help flourish. I used to CouchSurf to help me travel, then I traveled just to CouchSurf, now I try to give back in anyway possible.

Interests

I love: Building things from re-used materials, Riding my bike, Hiking to the top of a mountain, Making art, Breathing really deep, "Practicing" martial arts after watching an old kung fu film, Getting way to into a hip hop song for being a skinny white dude, Eye contact, Accomadating and entertaining people, mastery, TRAVELING!

  • arts
  • environment
  • dining
  • cooking
  • meditation
  • traveling
  • woodworking
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • trail running
  • mountain biking
  • kung fu
  • hiking,
  • yoga and meditation
  • hiking in the mountains
  • frisbee golf

Music, Movies, and Books

I play drums and am ecstatic about old kung fu movies.

I really do love all types of music but am really into Thom Yorke & Mac Miller currently.

I unfortunately struggle with reading, but I've been trying to get into "The Four Agreements."

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Copenhagen: made a bike from scraps in a junk yard, got introduced to dumpster diving, then rode with a pack of 5 of the coolest Danish people ever through Denmark and into Sweden for 5 days. I camped out in a tent I had found on a campsite in the Netherlands a couple of days before (left behind because of an extreme storm). I went 5 days without spending anything! It's hard to explain but it was an extremely liberating feeling and made me rethink my whole "plan" for life.

Teach, Learn, Share

Have studied meditation to the where I am comfortable giving beginning instructions.

Knowledgeable in Organic and Natural foods.

I love bicycles and how they work. I'd love to help you fix yours.

I've been seriously studying woodworking for about 8 years now. My head is filled with it.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Hungary, Mexico, Netherlands, Peru, Sweden, Switzerland, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Tyler’s full profile.

My Groups