Taylor Beckwith-Ferguson's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 6% response rate
  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Taylor’s full profile.

Overview

  • 208 references 164 Confirmed & Positive
  • Ambassador
  • Fluent in English, Russian; learning Georgian, German, Spanish
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Founder of Vagabond Adventures
  • Pomona College + Traveling
  • From Grinnell, IA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Last minute requests only, please!! Not more than 2 days in advance. I often don't know what I'm doing tomorrow so I prefer to host spontaneous travelers who are flexible with their plans.

Currently in Croatia until December and sometimes able to host. I live with my girlfriend in an apartment near the beach in Podstrana, 10km from the center of Split (30 min bus, €1.25). This place is best for travelers who want to hang out and spend time by the beach and don't care so much about sightseeing. Most days we work from home in the mornings and go to the beach in the afternoon.

ABOUT ME

In the winter I live with a community of skiers in Gudauri, Georgia. In summer I travel a lot.

I most enjoy traveling by hitchhiking and bicycle. I also spend a lot of time skiing, hiking, and eating. I'm always looking for new projects to get involved with and new skills to learn.

As a guest, I don't really need anything other than a small corner of floor space, and I'm just about the least picky eater you'll ever find.

I've been writing a blog while on the road which you can see here: http://www.taylorbf.com
I don't update it very often.

PHILOSOPHY

Work to live, don't live to work.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Interactions based on the desire to hang out and have a good time are nicer than interactions based on the expectation of money.

I don't care much about the sights of a city. I'm more interested in meeting the people of a city.

I love food and would happily buy the ingredients so you can teach me to cook a traditional meal from your culture. I can cook for you as well.

Interests

I like to mix adventure, adrenaline, intellectual stimulation, and communal living.

  • animals
  • cooking
  • cheese
  • dumpster diving
  • electronic music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • scuba diving
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • hitchhiking
  • kitesurfing
  • community

Music, Movies, and Books

-House, psytrance, most upbeat dancey music

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Made eye contact with a polar bear in the wild, alone, with no weapons or defenses

Teach, Learn, Share

-I want to learn acro yoga, languages, and cooking new dishes
-I can teach you how to ski, hitchhiking strategy, swimming technique.
- Let's share space, time, energy

What I Can Share with Hosts

I hope that I can make your day more interesting. Wherever I end up, you'll always have a place to stay!

Countries I’ve Visited

Chile, Greenland, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Kyrgyzstan, Norway, Oman, Poland, Russian Federation, Slovenia, Spain, Tajikistan, Turkey, Ukraine, Uzbekistan

Countries I’ve Lived In

Georgia, Germany, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Taylor’s full profile.

My Groups