Taylor Mitchell's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Taylor’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, French; learning German, Russian
  • 24, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Student
  • BA in History and IS from University of Michigan
  • From Detroit, MI, USA
  • Profile 70% complete

About Me

My name is Taylor, I'm a university student in my third year. I'm studying History and International Studies, as well as French and Russian while learning German on my own time. I'm currently in London studying for a term at King's College. I've spent the last couple of months traveling Europe and am soon returning to the U.S.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've decided to take a look at Couchsurfing both because I've come to appreciate the nature of a global community and because Europe has practically bankrupted me. Having spent some time staying in Airbnbs during my travels I've really come to appreciate the idea of people helping people find places to live for cheaper than a 3 star hotel. I'll be returning to the US on June 20th, but my flight gets into New York rather than Detroit and I'm hoping that I can spend some time in the city before finally heading home.

Interests

I'm an avid reader and gamer. I like a good night out and love spending time with my friends. I've only recently started traveling on my own so I'm really into getting to know local culture through local eyes. I'm a culture fiend and love a nice relaxing day at a museum followed by a great night out clubbing or bar hopping. I'm also a lover of language, I've only recently started learning German but I've been taking French and Russian for a number of years now.

  • culture
  • clubbing
  • traveling
  • history

Music, Movies, and Books

Music I like almost anything, dance, electro, techno, to country, pop and hip-hop. It really depends on the mood I'm in and what sound I'm feeling. I love a good love song and slow ballads break my heart while I could dance the night away to the best of Berlin House.

With regard to film I'm a hopeless romantic, some of my favorite films are Moulin Rouge, Titanic and Romeo + Juliet. But I also love a good action flick or blockbuster. I'm a die-hard film critic and love to follow the Oscar race year to year and if I could pick one job to have if money weren't an object it would be film critic.

For books, I love to read, but I rarely find time- partially because the internet has become such a big distraction with sites like Reddit and Tumblr causing my attention to flit from one subject to the next. Yet, if I can really get into a book I can spend the entire day or night getting lost in a world apart from my own.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I have a lot of great stories from my last six months in Europe ranging from tame to wild. Like I said I love to experience local culture through local eyes and so being able to spend time with my host and their friends is a major plus. I'm a fun loving, relaxed guy, who really just likes to share experiences.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Taylor’s full profile. It’s free!