Teemu Syrjälä's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Teemu’s full profile.

Overview

  • 11 references 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Finnish, Swedish; learning Norwegian Bokmål
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Biomedical Laboratory Scientist
  • Bachelor's Degree in Biomedical Laboratory Science
  • From Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

A 25 year-old lad originally from Tampere, Finland! I'm fascinated by life sciences like biochemistry, human biology and clinical lab work. These things branch out to my personal life too, which you can tell from my love towards little kitchen projects involving micro-organisms. Despite my love for sciences, i also love making new acquaintances and meeting people from different cultures and backgrounds. I'm interested in experiencing foreign and unusual ways of living and thinking.

... What's the quirkiest place in your town?

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Let's be honest, i'm fairly new at couchsurfing still but i'm overly excited! (I always read this line in my profile but i've never felt confident taking off the "fairly new" part - i guess that is because this thing just does not stop amazing me!)
I like travelling light, sometimes so light that people think I've accidentally left all my stuff somewhere. I feel like less weight on my back allows me to be more focused on what and who is actually around me.

It'd be an honor to share my time and my thoughts with you. I want to see the true nature of people, see their weird habits, quirks, homes, whatever! I'm not too fond of hostels which would be alright if i merely needed a bed to sleep for the night. Habitating one's couch is another thing; you can surround yourself with real life and real people.

Interests

Seeing my surroundings through the locals' eyes
Big cities
Two opposites
Industrialism

Metropolitan living
No-frills
Development
Foreign ways of living

  • architecture
  • design
  • cooking
  • wine
  • beer
  • vegan
  • biology
  • medicine
  • science
  • sustainability
  • craft beer
  • urbanism
  • lgbtq

Music, Movies, and Books

Indie
Finnish hip-hop rap
Weird
Electronic
Artpop

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Substituting a printmaking press with a huge van for drypoint artwork!

Teach, Learn, Share

Fermenting!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I believe the most valuable thing i can share are my points of view in all aspects of life. I like to think that i'm good company, but then again who isn't? I'm also quite a handy self-taught cook. I've noticed Finnish cuisine is the worst to replicate in another country but if you insist on it, i'll figure something out!

If there's anything specific I could do for you, please dare to ask!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Iceland, Italy, Kosovo, Macedonia, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Romania, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Finland, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Teemu’s full profile.