Jan Kerekes's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 18 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 167 references 118 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Czech, English, German, Russian, Slovak, Spanish; learning Chinese (Simplified), French, Indonesian, Japanese, Polish
  • 44, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • always doing what i feel like
  • chemical engineer, MSc.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

"To meet my Maker"

ABOUT ME

"" I don't like and don't believe in "should" things. I believe Life is beautiful. People say I am friendly and I can make them happy . Sometimes I struggle to make myself happy, but I am trying all the time. I am from Eastern Slovakia therefore very straightforward, outgoing and - as rest of the country says about us - a bit crazy :-) ""

I wrote these words when I made my profile in 2007 and they all still stand strong. But Life has brought me through so many things and places in last few years that I feel like it has been solid three or four decades of a regular Life. And it is still not stopping. Learning, trying, falling and finding ...again, again and again. So I just wonder, will it ever stop?

When I move I hitch-hike, when I sleep I camp or stay with locals, when I travel I am alive.

PHILOSOPHY

La vida es bella.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Sharing...

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Exceptionally nice idea that works well. I wish everybody a lot of good experience with this unique project. Let's host and be hosted, let's learn to respect and tolerate, and become better.

SURFED: many, many couches, beds, mattresses, floors... around this globe - THANK YOU all, dear friends!
HOSTED (current location listed only): Tash&Josh (AUS), Ekaterina (RUS), Zhiting (CHN), Milli and Wojciech (BUL&POL), Varvara&Anzhela (RUS), Lezsek (POL), Daniel (HKG), Nicolas (FRA), Yusheen (TWN), Lovette (PHP), Vasiliy&Julia (RUS), Paul (TWN), Derek (USA), YY (China), Brita (NZ), Lenka (CZ), Ashiari (IND), Don (TWN),....

Interests

LIFE and everything in it! NATURE, mountains, Ocean, rivers, people, grapes, history, all corners of human mind, soul, and heart...Hobbies: dishwashing. (And yes, some traveling , too...here and there :-)

  • cooking
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • sailing
  • sports
  • history
  • rivers
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Legends of the fall,Leon, La vida es bella,The Shawshank Redemption,Young Guns, X-men....Those are the light ones that I like . And then there are some serious that can change a person´s Life.
Oldies, Elvis, Rock - only songs I like though...
To God Unknown, Sun Also Rises, Night in Lisabon...
(And Air Supply!!, but I would never admit in public:-)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

First was when I was born, then when I got aware of myself. From then it has been a roller coaster. Sunsets, broken limbs, moments of glory, moments of shame, smiles, tears, close calls, slow times, darkness, dreams, merlots, sailing the high seas,tastes of all kinds ...And places, many, many places. And people, many , many people, from all walks of Life. Life really is so nice. Much more then just the job and car in the garage. But it's fine if you have different opinion. One amazing thing? No way! Too many. I'll tell you later.

Teach, Learn, Share

Many things about Nature - I can teach and I want to learn more. And cooking and sports and being a survivor in this crazy world :-) Plus, I have traveled... one could say quite a lot... So I have few stories and tips if someone is interested :-)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Many things about Nature - I can teach and I want to learn more. And cooking and sports and being a survivor in this crazy world :-)

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, French Guiana, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macao, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, San Marino, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vatican City State, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, China, Greece, Japan, New Zealand, Slovakia, South Korea, Taiwan, United States

Old School Badges

  • 25 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile.

My Groups