Brett Neuling's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 5 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Brett’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Swedish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Student!
  • Bachelor in Media. Bachelor in Arts (Classics and English...
  • From Adelaide, Australia.
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To see as much of Europe as possible before a long, long flight back to Australia! To have a drink in every pub I can find, see a local gig at every venue, take a photo with every vaguely suggestive statue. Budget allowing, of course...

ABOUT ME

Well, that rather depends on who you ask! Hopefully, you'd ask my friends, not my mates, as their answers may be rather more, well, humorous for sure, but not necessarily the type of humour I'd want on a resume... But I digress! I'd *like* to think that they'd all say I'm a friendly, open guy, able to socialise with just about anyone, regardless of social class, musical taste, economic background or any such other categorical factors. They'd probably also say I'm keen to engage in any sort of activity, whether it's an opera or a pub. They'd tell you I'm made to be social, and am here to have fun. Which, incidentally, is true :)

PHILOSOPHY

Without trying to buy into a current cultural fad, I guess I could say You Only Live Once. I'm here to experience everything I can - whether cultural or culinary, scenic or scientific, literary or logistic. Well, everything that has the potential to be enjoyable...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

None - so far...!

Interests

At the moment, TRAVEL! I left Australia for the first time at the start of August this year (2012), and I've been loving every second of it. I love meeting new people and doing new things, learning new ways of life and experiencing new cultures. I want to do ALL the things!
When I was at home, well, obviously it was rather different. Apart from uni and work, I split my time between casual drinks with friends, going out on weekends - all the typical social stuff I guess - and more individual leisures. I read, listen to music, watch movies, play games. Oh, and lots of sport.

  • walking
  • drinking
  • pub crawls
  • movies
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • opera
  • kayaking
  • sports
  • history

Music, Movies, and Books

For books, two rather separate genres hold my thoughts - Classics, and Fantasy. You can find titles like The Picture of Dorian Gray, the Illiad, and Perfume in my room, as well as authors such as David Gemmell, Robert Jordan, R. A. Salvatore and Katharine Kerr.

For movies, I'm open to most things. Favourite titles include Pirates of the Caribbean (1), Fight Club, the Crow, the Lord of the Rings, and Ink. I don't get to the cinemas a huge amount, but the best thing I've seen recently was Sucker Punch.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

In the last two or three months, there have been quite a few! Erm...

*Walking through the original Olympic Stadium in Delphi. I couldn't believe I was there. I could feel the history around me - it was like being a character in the Illiad or one of Xenophon's histories.
*Walking around St Peter's Basilica. I know, I know, it's a big stereotype, but seriously that place is amazing. I just can't imagine that people will ever create such ostentatious monuments ever again.
*Kayaking in the middle of a lake in Sweden. Some friends and I rode our bikes there, then went for a kayak. I felt so serene, so peaceful, on this Swedish lake surrounded by forest. I know there are places to do that kind of thing in Australia, but being in another country seems to make all the difference (plus it's not easy to find kayak-lake combinations near Adelaide anyway...)

Countries I’ve Visited

Germany, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Sweden

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Sweden

Join Couchsurfing to see Brett’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups