Accepting Guests

  • 20% response rate
  • Last login about 7 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kyla’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 2 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Musician / Filmmaker
  • BA in film, theatre
  • From Wellington
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me


Learn Spanish, experience Latin America in all its glory


I live in a student flat in Kelburn with my psychotic small dog and my awesome flatmates. I enjoy cooking, eating, drinking, making / watching movies, playing / listening to music, and skating.

Look me up on facebook - Kyla Mary Walker


If it's free, I'm in.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I am currently planning an epic hitchhiking / couch surfing tour of Latin America beginning in October and going on until I run out of money. I am keen to hear from anyone who is from or has been to South / Central America / Mexico. If you can teach me Spanish, our couch is yours for as long as you want it! It would be great to meet people who would be willing to return the favour should my travels bring me to their hometown.


Have hosted twice and surfed once, all excellent experiences. It's always good to get the locals' guide to the area rather than the information centre's!


Music, film, skating, vegan cupcakes, alcohol, fun times.

  • dogs
  • cooking
  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • running
  • drinking
  • movies
  • socializing
  • music
  • guitar
  • piano
  • surfing
  • tourism
  • hitchhiking

Music, Movies, and Books

these lists could potentially get rather long so my top picks are -
Music: Bjork
Films: Withnail and I
Books: Hairy Maclary

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach english, guitar, and piano in exchange for learning Spanish. Am also very good at extensive discussions of film and music and quite enjoy vegetarian/vegan cooking.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, China, France, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, New Caledonia, Singapore, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

New Zealand

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Kyla’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups