Richard Ward's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Richard’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 25 References 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Owner of Things Align Design & Terraform Tiny Homes
  • BFA - Art Direction
  • From Dallas, TX, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a gypsy entrepreneur and have been fully free of the corporate world for over two years. I built two businesses in a way that I can travel full time, help others, and enjoy what I do. My primary business is running an advertising agency working with small & local businesses to grow their marketing presence. My second business is consulting and designing tiny homes for people wanting to shrink their impact and grow their lives (and become future couch surfers).

Built my first home, a 250 sq ft tiny house on wheels, in Sept 2015 (TerraformTH.com). After traveling in my "vacation home", 32 Sq ft Honda element all over the west coast for four months, I decided the Tiny house was too big and started work on my new home, a 54 sq ft THoW. I have been living full time out of 54 sq ft since October 2017. Since August 2016 I have spent 7 months on the road traveling and loving every minute of it.

I'm an avid cyclist, painter, home brewer, and pretty good vegetarian chef. I love to dance go dancing, East coast swing, Blues, and Country Swing/Two-Step is what I'm confident in... but I'm open to learning anything. Non-smoker but a fan of a good beer. I have a love for problem-solving and learning and seeing new things. Life's too short to be stuck in a cube so I've designed my life to live simply, enjoy every day, and have some cool stories to tell.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love traveling, I love meeting people, hearing stories, and seeing new things. Couchsurfers has given me the opportunity to learn about other people and cultures I would otherwise never come into contact with. It's given me so many interesting stories and given me the opportunity to give back by hosting and introducing people to the tiny house life.

Interests

  • arts
  • design
  • dancing
  • swing dancing
  • beer
  • traveling
  • minimalism
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • road trips
  • beaches
  • national parks
  • craft beer
  • bikes
  • conversation
  • tiny houses
  • good conversation
  • brewing
  • blues dancing
  • breweries
  • drinking beer
  • hiking,
  • swing

Music, Movies, and Books

I listen to a lot of folk music, blues, rock, anything weird and unique. I have a weird crush on anyone who plays the violin. I listen to a lot of different music, it just depends on my mood for the day... I love anything I can dance to and am always happy to teach.

I don't watch a lot of movies... TV shows... or really stay up to date with any pop-culture after about 2009... I have too much other stuff going on.

Reading fuels my wanderlust, I love Into The Wild, Blue Highways, Kerouac's On the Road... I've been trying to work my way through The Artists Way and have been getting into some Buddhist readings lately.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Discovered my love for building tiny homes! Since September 2015, I have built a 250 sq ft home, a 32 sq ft element conversion, and a 54 sq ft Micro-Home for me. I have designed and helped build on countless other peoples homes, everything from a Prius to a 36' long tiny house mansion. Currently, I am working with a non-profit to head up their design and building team to build tiny homes for the homeless. Prior to starting the 250 sq ft house, I had no background in construction or architecture... I was able to learn as I went, power through many many screw-ups, and now I teach others to build.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am an award-winning homebrewer, I love to match people who "don't like beer" with something they'll love or just teach other beer drinkers a little bit. I help small businesses grow for a living, I'm happy to give a little bit of advice. My specialty is in digital marketing, SEO, and social media. Also, I'm pretty handy around the home and in the kitchen. Bikes, beer, art, and tiny houses are my life and I'm happy to share.

What I Can Share with Hosts

See "Teach, Learn, Share" for my skill set. I'm also a pretty good vegetarian chef and love to cook for people. I can give you more information about beer than you'd ever care to know about, including things like pairings, styles, how to pick something you like, etc. I can teach you to swing dance, cook, or maybe fix that squeaky drawer in your home.

Growing up my parents took us camping and taught us to "leave the site better than we found it", I do my best to extend this to my hosts as well. If a person is kind enough to give me a place to sleep, I do my best to reciprocate with a meal, drinks, teaching, or something... that's what's makes this community great.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Belize, Canada, Denmark, England, Estonia, Honduras, Mexico, Norway, Russian Federation, Sweden

Join Couchsurfing to see Richard’s full profile. It’s free!