Tessina De Lille's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tessina’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 34 References 25 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French, German; learning Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • I study ecology - the interactions in nature. And I speci...
  • M.Sc. Ecology, University of Bremen
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


About a year ago, our daughter Nurit was born. It has been a very intense but amazing year, and I have realized I want to have 1000 children.
My absolute passion is nature. I am working on a plan to be outdoors most of my time. A few months ago I started a Family Nature Club in our neighbourhood to connect young parents with each other and with nature.
Discovering (European) culture and cuisine are other things I am dreaming of (working on several project at the same time. Some involve a lot of walking, a donkey, other an old car and no highways. And of course couchsurfing is going to be how we will spend the nights - which hostel would accept a donkey anyway?!).
And then there is painting and food. More of it in my life please. Even though I am a scientist, I love art. Art goes where science reaches its limits.


I'm Belgian, but I've been living in Germany for the last years (mostly in Berlin and Bremen, but also a short while in Wilhelmshaven). And I may have lost my heart here, so it seems I'll be staying for many more years.

I'm finishing my M.Sc. Ecology, and what I will do after that is still rather unsure, but I'm full of energy and projects, so I'm confident I'll find my way.


Be lovely to everyone. Laugh. Be authentic and do only things that make you happy. Dance (little anecdote: a baby can move on music sooner than it can walk, so somehow we dance before we walk).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I've surfed quite a bit, and hosted a lot.
I really enjoy sharing my life with people. And in the same way, I love to temporary live with others and learn from them.


Couchsurfing is the only way of truly getting to know a place the way locals see it. I find it wonderful that there is a way to travel and meet people and to really experience a place. It is such a personal, individual and exciting experience.

My recently best experience was in Athens. I stayed at a family where there was an almost total language barrier, but I have never felt this much at home. And even though they didn't understand why I'm vegetarian, they still invited all their friends the evening I cooked. And afterwards, they tried to convince me to stay forever.


I'm the happiest when I'm somewhere outside. I enjoy hiking and birding immensely, but I'm also always in for a canoe trip, playing with a kite, a cycling tour, a swim in lake or sea, a camping trip, ...

I'm also very into permaculture, sustainability, self-suffiency, and my head is always full of ideas to upcycle, DIY, growing food, animal husbandry, and many more.

Another passion of mine is drawing and painting. It happens spontaneously and my heart always makes a little dance of joy when I'm doing it. I like to see what the cooperation of my head and my hands do. I am always nicely surprised.

I also adore traveling. It has been (and still is!) such an important part of defining who I am. For me a travel is very inspiring because it offers so many new ideas and views. I love seeing different things, doing new things, meeting new people.
Every once in a while, my hearts start longing for different horizons, and I just have to go. I study birds, and I like to compare myself to migratory species. The fancy term is "migratory restlessness", the urge to go that translates in being nervous.

Then there is food. I adore food! I like to make it, eat it, read about it, smell it, grow it, experiment with it... From bread to Vietnamese pho. If you're open for my enthusiastic kitchen energy, I would love to cook - mostly improvised - for you!

  • animals
  • birds
  • diy
  • dancing
  • education
  • cooking
  • cheese
  • vegetarian
  • walking
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • painting
  • drawing
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • canoeing
  • camping
  • swimming
  • ecology
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies - I enjoy any kind of funny, hilarious or cheerful film a lot. I have a small weak spot for French comedies. And nature documentaries of course.

Music - I like those small, cheerful bands, especially folk-like music (Balkan, French, ...). Preferably with some kind of uncommon instrument, to give an interesting touch to the sound.

Books - There are heaps of books I enjoy. Way too many to mention here...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I try to consider most things I do as amazing.
But of course there are things that are more amazing than other. At the moment my trip to Mallorca comes to mind. My boyfriend and I had rent a little Fiat 500. We drove around the island with it, hiked a lot during the days, and slept in it during the nights. One night, we woke up by some strange bells. As some kind of Christian Church celebration. It was all round us. We took our torches and discovered that the car had been surrounded by a flock of sheep, and the sound were the bells around their necks! These kind of experiences I cherish most.

And of course being a mum is one of the most intense experiences I've had in my life. It's a rollercoaster of emotions and changes, and you're feeling as if you're losing control. But at the same time, you feel responsible for this little human. You feel insecure, and at the same time capable of handling the entire world.

Teach, Learn, Share

I probably won't stop talking when we meet. I talk a lot. But I also love to learn about things I don't know so much about.
You will steal my heart if you can show me some new kinds of food or something about nature. I enjoy the Macedonian way of dining: long hours of sharing food and company over salads, cheese and grilled bread.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm an easy guest with a childlike entusiasm for new things.
I don't snore.
I sleep easily.
I'm small, so I don't take much space.
I'm not grumpy in the mornings, and I don't mind early wake-ups.
And of course I am excited to cook for you or teach you anything I can!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Bolivia, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Macedonia, Morocco, Peru, Poland, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Germany, Netherlands, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Tessina’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups