Lisa Smith

Boston, Massachusetts, United States

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login almost 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lisa’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Welder, Artist, and Student.
  • I look forward to learning from every person I meet, and ...
  • From Huntsville, Tx where the white tailed dear are plenty.
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


Figure out what the hell it is I'm doing here.


I have lived in Texas all of my life, but grew up hearing stories of all over the world, because my mom lived in several countries, and visited more while she was growing up. I would dream of walking in the jungles of Africa, and swinging on vines in Venzula like she did, riding camels in Egypt, and having alligators for pets.
While my life so far has not been as varried of adventures as hers, I have had many adventures as one could due to awesome people.
I have found growing up in a small town that no matter where you are, you can have a good time, and that its really who you are with that matters most. However, that does not satisfy my curiousity of cultures that are different than mine, and people who speak languages foreign to me. I love language, food, music, art, philosophy and theology, which interestingly enough is what makes up many people's culture.

I have one bachelors in theology, and I'm working on my BFA in Painting and Drawing. I might pursue graduate school but lately I have had a growing interest in organic farming, so who knows. I also recently got a job welding MMA cages and boxing rings.


To be a sponge of life. And live a life of love.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have been on CS for a year now and hosted several people and surfed once in Carlsbad with my friend Mary. I want to surf more, though I really enjoy hosting. I have met some of the most fascinating and inspiring people.


I have found CouchSurfing to be something that I really enjoy, though I have mostly hosted, I think its a great way to meet new and interesting people.


Making art, sketching, theolgoy, philosophy,Ancient Myths, Reading, Language, Translation, Pyschology, Travel, Cooking, People, Living in Europe music, food consuming and creating, being some what lazy, playing with my dog, and being with people.

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Amelie, The Royal Tenenbaums, Little Miss Sunshine, The Departed, Joe vs. the Volcano, Pulp Fiction, Hercules, Equilibrium, Rushmore, Saved!, I (heart) Huckabees, and I'm pretty sure, Benny and Joon.

Books: Breakfast At Tiffany's, Brave New World, A Wrinkle In Time, East Of Eden, The Giver, Night, The Stranger, A Short History Of Nearly Everything, The God Who May Be.

Music: I really love: The Wallflowers, The Mountain Goats, Beck, The White Stripes, Gogol Bordello,Beirut, Tom Waits, The Dead Weather, Raconteurs, Micah P. Hinson, The Velvet Underground, DeVotchKa, Bob Dylan,and The Kinks. My current favorite song: Many Shades of Black, by the Racontuers

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've seen Da Vinci's Last Supper, the 2009 Beiannale, the Cartoon of the School of Athens, Picasso's Three Muscians, I and the Village by Chagall, I met one of my artistic heros Melissa Miller last February, and I had my first show.

Teach, Learn, Share

Well I can teach you how to cook, if you want. I know how to make several things from scratch. I make most of my food from scratch and recently gotten into making my own bread.

Countries I’ve Visited

Germany, Italy

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Lisa’s full profile. It’s free!