John Bohling's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see John’s full profile.

Overview

  • 122 references 98 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Spanish
  • 68, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • part-time entertainer (singer/actor in a dinner theater)...
  • college grad - art major, minors in music and psychology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Today was good. Today was fun. Tomorrow is another one.

ABOUT ME

I've made my living as a water skier primarily but have a varied background. I've lived on Kauai for 36 years. I'm single, never married and have no children. I enjoy adventure travel and have been fortunate to visit a small portion of the globe as an entertainer and, more recently as a tour manager. I prefer a hug over a handshake.

PHILOSOPHY

Be the person that you would feel lucky to meet.

"You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose." Dr. Seuss

“A journey is best measured in friends, rather than miles.” – Tim Cahill

Carpe the hell out of this diem.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Open to persons who need info on Kauai or Hawaii and am willing to host and show the island. Please read my entries under the "My Home" tab to understand my hosting style and information on where I live.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

more as a host in recent months

Interests

Anything cultural, adventure oriented, connecting with energetic and interesting people.

  • culture
  • singing
  • acting
  • wine
  • meditation
  • trivia
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • windsurfing
  • skydiving
  • skiing
  • wakeboarding
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • golf
  • adventure travel
  • laughing
  • naturism
  • slackline
  • playing guitar
  • biking
  • diving
  • people watching
  • deep conversations
  • meeting new people
  • motorcycling
  • puppies
  • sexuality
  • being outside
  • paddleboarding
  • being silly
  • jeopardy
  • eating strange and unusual foods
  • art and photography
  • expressing grattitude
  • the subconscious mind
  • foot and hand massage
  • witty humor

Music, Movies, and Books

I read for information and self improvement...Be Water, My Friend by Shannon Lee is a favorite read along with The Complete Conversations with God by
Neale Donald Walsch and Gene Keys: Embracing Your Higher Purpose by Richard Rudd. Quora.com is a fun online site that has a wide variety of questions with responses from all over the globe. Music I enjoy usually has a relaxing aspect or thumps if I'm in the mood. The movie "Shine" with Geoffrey Rush doing some great acting is worth a look but I also enjoy attending live plays and musicals.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

skydive near Hoover Dam, whitewater kayaking in Bali and Laos, getting stitches without anesthesia, wall dive at night in Les Saints, rock climbing in Yangshuo,China, glider ride on Kauai, Canyon Swing, Nevis and Kawarau Bridge bungy and the Zorb in New Zealand, full moon windsurfing in the Turks and Caicos, driving a Porsche over 150 mph, ballooning near the Great Barrier Reef, and completed my first marathon in September, 2009. Chief Judge for two world wakeboard championships televised on ESPN and Prime Ticket. I've seen a brilliant and colorful night rainbow. Got my first hole in one in July, '11. Sorry, I know it asks for one amazing thing...I kinda got carried away.

Teach, Learn, Share

Hawaiian culture, sports like stand up paddle boarding, slackline, kayak, golf, rowbike, hiking Kauai, massage, how to shoot spaghetti out your nose.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am glad to help with chores around your place, pitch in money for gas and food and run errands for you. I can make friends with your next door neighbors and tell them what a nice person you are and I can also psychoanalyze your dog and inform you how he/she really feels about certain issues :).

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, Chile, China, Croatia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, England, Fiji, France, Germany, Greece, Guadeloupe, Haiti, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kiribati, Kosovo, Laos, Liechtenstein, Martinique, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Romania, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin (French part), Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Scotland, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Turks and Caicos Islands, United Kingdom, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Dominican Republic, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mexico, Saint Lucia, Turks and Caicos Islands, United States

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see John’s full profile.

My Groups