Geralyn Rigor's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 95% response rate
  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Geralyn’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 58 References 21 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Danish, English, Tagalog; learning Danish, Hindi
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Development worker; travel blogger; shutter-happy photogr...
  • BS Development Communication
  • From Philippines
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

We're Gera and Niklas, and our little girl Tara Freya. :)
For a quick info: Gera (more below and in succeeding sections) is a Filipina development worker/communicator and Niklas is a Danish airplane driver (hehehe). Tara is our little bundle of joy. :)

We took a time out from hosting/surfing and traveling last year while I was pregnant and since Tara required much of our attention. But now, we've decided to open the door of our home to travelers. So, see you soon!

CURRENT MISSION

Change the world, one life at a time.

ABOUT ME

I am a Filipina involved in development work. Much as I am in love with traveling, meeting new people and having new experiences, I find more passion in using my skills and talents in helping shape a better future for other people, especially for the extremely poor and vulnerable. It's a bonus that I get to travel while I do just that. And oh, I'm a real sucker for good food, especially the ones that look great in photographs. And yes, I really do want to change the world. :D

You can check out my blogs at:
http://theadwanders.wordpress.com --> travel blog
http://indiasaakingmgamata.blogspot.com --> India Photo and Video diary
http://project365volunteersforchange.blogspot.in/2011/12/becoming-vso-bahaginan-volunteer-what.html --> Volunteering Journey with other VSO Volunteers (Your journey begins by clicking!)

PHILOSOPHY

"What we really need are opportunities. To create change and not just be a part of it. I believe that if we can do that, then the world will be a better place. It doesn'€™t matter how long it will take to do so. All that matters is we can make it happen."

"It is only by working for and with the people, communities and concerned stakeholders that we will be able to achieve real, inclusive and sustainable development."

"A lifetime is not enough to experience what the world has to offer. On our own, we're only scratching the surface, seeing the tip of the iceberg. But, when we meet new people, open ourselves to each other, and share our experiences, we learn more about our lives and go deeper and deeper as we see the world through their eyes."

"Work hard, play harder. Plan if you must but be spontaneous whenever opportunity presents itself. Seize the day. And the night. Take a leap of faith. Explore, wander and discover. Life is not just lived, it is experienced!"

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I organize CS Weekend Escape, a 2-day out of town trip (sometimes leaving Fri night and back on Mon morning), every now and then when the need to escape the urban jungle is just too much to ignore already! Together with some CSers met during these weekends and through meet-ups, we hold a weekly dinner cook night with different themes and cuisines! It's a great way to share culture and get to know other CSers on a more meaningful and filling way!

I've been hosted several times and now am open to host people here in the Philippines. :) I also attend meet-ups and events. :)

I try to answer as much questions as possible about my country, the Philippines. And promoting my country (It's more fun in the Philippines!) every time I meet a new CSer of course! :)

I share travel stories and life experiences with people I meet through CS. It's been great! Oh, since I'm a shutterbug, I take photos and share here too so people will know the different things we do while participating in CS!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Meet-ups and travel together with CSers in Philippines and India

Surfing, Hosting and Hanging Out

Surfed with Zaza in Brunei
Surfed with Prasanna in Mumbai
Hosted Rajie in Navi Mumbai
Surfed with Warren and Ashwin in Goa
Surfed with Bhavesh and partied with other Hyderabad CSers
Hung out with Filipina CSer Ann during my assignment in Nagpur
Surfed (kind of) with Sokirt in Amritsar
Surfed with the family of Kamal and Madhu in Jaipur
Surfed with roommates Aaron and Joshua in Aurangabad
Hung out with Mamtha and her husband Tyag and Mom Shanthu in Bangalore with Anna, another CSer from the Hampi-Bangalore train
Guided and helped by Mukesh in Kochi (too bad I wasn't feeling too well, not even to meet him!)
Hosted Larry from Montreal (Day surfer!)
Hosted Gianna from Mexico
Surfed with Bonnie and Alex in Hong Kong
Surfed with Darrell in Macau
Surfed with Analie in Berlin
Hung out with Lenka in Prague
(There used to be links to their profiles. Now it's gone. :( I wanted to let you know who they are and how great they have been to me and others!)
Surfed with Jana and Markus in Hamburg
Surfed with Rick (and Marloes) in Amstelveen

For more of the experience, do check-out all the photos here tagged with CS. :)

Interests

People. Food. Travel. Culture. Conversations. Development Work. Psychology. Philosophy. Sociology. Photography. Architecture. Blogging. Movies. Music. TV Series.

  • arts
  • culture
  • architecture
  • design
  • photography
  • dining
  • cooking
  • breakfast
  • movies
  • tv
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • music
  • surfing
  • history
  • psychology
  • sociology
  • volunteering
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

MOVIES: Romantic Comedies; epic, war and period movies; coming-of-age films; movies that make you think; sci-fi and fantasy genre. Got hooked with Bollywood films while in India. I don't/I avoid to watch thriller and horror films that are too-gory-and-too-bloody-that-can-actually-become-a-nightmare.

Some TV Series I really like:
The Good Wife, Nikita, Revenge, Tudors, Grey's Anatomy, Game of Thrones, The Vampire Diaries, Numb3rs, Beauty and the Beast, Spartacus, Gossip Girl, Bones, Dexter, Homeland, NCIS, Shameless, Reign, Borgia, Suits (is it a weird mix or what?!)

MUSIC: Pop. Dance. Electronic. Jazz. Alternative Rock. Song covers. EDM. Spotify playlists! :)

BOOKS: Coming-of-age. Romantic drama. True-to-life stories. Sci-fi. Fantasy. Read the Hunger Games Trilogy and "A Song of Ice and Fire" aka Game of Thrones series. Read some Indian authors. Currently engaged with young adult fiction series -- just completed the Divergent series and now on to The Mortal Instruments.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I don't know if I've had THE amazing moment yet but I think seeing a rainbow below you while on the plane is pretty amazing. Don't you think? :)

October 2012: watched the sun rise at the snow-capped Kanchenjunga mountain, 3rd highest peak in the world

January 2013: the volunteerism and generosity of people at the langer (free kitchen) in Golden Temple Complex, Amritsar

January 2015: the winter wonderland white plains of Germany and Czech Republic and the snow-capped hills by the River Elbe. For a tropical islander like me, seeing fields of snow and white Christmas trees is awesome!

Teach, Learn, Share

Teaching English.
Learning Danish and trying not to lose the little Hindi I survived with while in India (for Gera).
I want to learn Spanish/French/German/Nipongo. Please teach me!!!
Teaching and learning blogging and web design. (If time permits, I can volunteer to set-up Blogspot and Wordpress weblogs for your travels or develop web design and content for small projects for your NGOs or grassroots organisations. I'm serious. Let me know how I can help!)
Re-learning photography and videography.
Learning world cuisine. I am mostly a world cuisine food taster. :D
Vowing to learn how to play ukulele in 2015. (broke the vow and got pregnant instead! But the ukulele is still with me so you're free to play/tune it up!)
These days, I am in search for people who are well-versed in world history, arts and culture - I want to learn more on this.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I whip up mean omelettes in the morning (or all-day breakfast).
I make awesome Indian curries (according to friends who devour them).
I cook "pwede na mag-asawa" level Filipino dishes (if you haven't been to the Philippines, let me bring my country to you).
I have a dessert specialty that you may have never ever tried before. Given the availability of ingredients, I'd gladly make it for you! :D

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Macao, Malaysia, Netherlands, Singapore, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Denmark, India, Indonesia, Philippines, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Geralyn’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups