Logo orange

Ashley and Natalia :-P

Luxembourg, Luxembourg, Luxembourg

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ashley and Natalia's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 10 Positive References
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, Russian, Spanish; learning Finnish, French, German, Swedish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • I'm a copy writer - so not as glamor...
  • I studied Marine Geology in College ...
  • From Ashley - USA/Mexico, Nat - Russia/Belgium
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To spread the love of beer and food with the world.

ABOUT ME

Ashley: I'm an American - raised in Mexico living in Luxembourg City with my incredibly stupid cat Molly. I love listening to metal music (death, black, heavy, doom)and classic rock (but I listen to other genres as well!)and going to fests. I LOVE beer and good food which carries on to cooking said good food. I bake cakes as a side business and find great joy in it. I enjoy travelling and seeing as much of the world as possible and learning languages. I'm a total linguistics junkie. I also love to host and show people all about this little country.

Also it would seem I'm a bit obessed with beer and food.

Natalia: Nat is a Russian girl, raised in Flanders (Belgium), who attended Uni in Wales. Since I've harassed her on several occasions to update this and she hasn't I'm doing it for her....sooo let's see, she's a sports-a-holic. She loves international relations and engineering even though she studied journalism - silly girl.

We are also hopeless when it comes to food, we will literally eat until we're both sick.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Ashley: I love being a hostess. I love the concept of meeting new people from different cultures and backgrounds. I used to consider myself as quite unique in my international background but being here in Lux and through Couch surfing I have found other kindred spirits.

I think that from here forward I try to pursue couch surfing as my preferred travel accomodation. When I visit a new city, seeing the touristic things are nice, but I really just fancy a nice local beer in a dingy side pub with some tasty food and knowledge of said places only comes from the locals.

I hope that people would give Lux a chance - I think that it's a very underrated little country that most think they can see in a day and move on. I should hope that they would see a bit more in it.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I haven't done much hosting but I hope to be accomodating when I can!

Natalia lives with her family at the moment but sometimes finds herself with a big empty house, should such an occasion arise and coincide with a couch surfer request she's happy to host!

Natalia and I did a whirlwind tour of Germany - THE LOOP! And met some really cool people via couch surfing. It really is the superior way to discover a new city.

Interests

Ashley: I love hiking, having philosophical debates over a pint, camping, listening to rockin' tunes and enjoying a good meal all while learning about new languages and cultures.

Natalia:

Music, Movies & Books

Ashley: Books: The Metamorphosis, Why I Am Not a Christian, The God Delusion, Dante's Inferno, In Cold Blood, Wuthering Heights - I really love so many books it's impossible to remember everything I've read. Movies: I LOVE low-budget horror films and in particular zombie films. Also really like Scandinavian films and foreign films in general - no I don't fear the subtitle. Music: Metal (and most of it's sub-genres)but I'm also a classic rock junkie as well as a closet 80's synth pop fan (ok not really closet "GIRLS ON FILM!!!! TWO MINUTES LATTTERRRRR")

Natalia: Music: She LOVES Black Sabbath and Deep Purple basically any classic rock you throw at her.

Books: Anna Karenina, The Old Man and the Sea, The Unbearable Lightness of Being Movies: Changeling, The Life of Brian, The Nightmare Before Christmas, Monty Python

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Ashley: I've seen the Temple of the Moon in Teotihuacan at sunset from the Temple of the Sun.

I've also seen a frothy pint with my name on it -which was twice as stunning.

Teach, Learn, Share

Ashley: I have previously worked as both an English and Spanish teacher at a language school. I also love baking and love teaching people how to make a delicious dessert.

Natalia: Natalia can show you how to drink vodka and swear in Russian. Oh and she'll challenge you to a tennis match.

Countries I've Visited

France, Germany, Luxembourg, Romania, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Belgium, Luxembourg, Mexico, Russian Federation, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Ashley and Natalia's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile