Asher Groeschler's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Asher’s full profile.

Overview

  • 50 references 36 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Pastry Chef
  • Associate degree in the Baking and Pastry Arts and a Bach...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

After working as a pastry chef for three and a half years I quit my job to live my dream of seeing the world. Since then I've hitchhiked my way through 90+ countries and had some of the most amazing experiences.

Every now and again though I come back to where I'm from to visit friends and family and if you catch me at one of those points I'm happy to host.

I like to think of myself as a laid back and easy going person who loves to get outside, travel, and see new places. One of my favorite things to do is called Geocaching. (Which is great at bringing me to new places!) I also spent four years in college getting degrees in the Baking and Pastry Arts and Food Service Management.

I've now been on the road off and on for about 40 months and have no plans to stop. Most nights I camp in my tent as I almost never know where I'll be and when which makes it difficult to plan out places to stay. But every now and again I find myself back on Couchsurfing.

Travel Status: Home in DC

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm on Couchsurfing because as I travel the world I want to be able to experience what it is like to be a local and immerse myself in the culture. What better way to do this than by actually staying with someone who lives in the area? There is so much more to traveling than just seeing a few tourist sites and for me it's not the places that I enjoy so much as the people I meet along the way.

Interests

Geocaching, baking, food, traveling, and meeting new people to name a few.

  • arts
  • culture
  • dining
  • baking
  • walking
  • traveling
  • camping
  • hitchhiking

Music, Movies, and Books

For music I pretty much listen to everything except rap. Lately I've been listening to a lot of dubstep/nightcore music.

For books I'm a big reader of young adult fiction/fantasy. The majority of books I've read lately all had something to do with the supernatural genre.

As for movies/tv I've been trying to veer away from watching as much as I used too in favor of going out and experiencing life. But I still enjoy science fiction shows such as Doctor Who, Reality shows such as Survivor and the Amazing Race, and Fantasy/supernatural shows like Once Upon a time and Teen Wolf.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

There are so many things I've done and so many amazing experiences I've had that it's hard to pick just one. Doing a 20 mile trek up and down a snow covered mountain, hitchhiking through more than 90 countries on just a dollar or two a day, walking out into the middle of the desert alone, etc. And as I travel around the world the list is only going to grow..

What I Can Share with Hosts

My abilities as a pastry chef. One of the things I love the most about baking is watching people enjoy my creations. I'd be very happy to bake something or even teach you how to make something.

I've also got plenty of stories about my experiences to share.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, England, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Kosovo, Laos, Latvia, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malawi, Malaysia, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Northern Ireland, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda, San Marino, Scotland, Serbia, Singapore, Sint Maarten (Dutch part), Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sudan, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Viet Nam, Virgin Islands, British, Virgin Islands, U.S., Wales, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Åland Islands

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Asher’s full profile.

My Groups