Logo orange

Lydia Witt

New York, NY, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lydia's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 63 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in English, Italian; learning Greek (modern), Spanish
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2006
  • Costume Technician at the New York U...
  • New York Univeristy- International E...
  • From Dayton, Ohio USA
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Find an internship for this summer...

ABOUT ME

Helen Keller said, " Life is either a daring adventure, or nothing at all." I always think of this when faced with a decision and try to pick the adventure instead of the fear of adventure.. I love my life, living in NYC, dancing,meeting friends, wandering around, cooking, or riding my bike! I think that learning a new language is the only way to really understand another group of people and I wish I had time to learn 10 more. I grew up in Ohio and Wisconsin, have lived in Boston, New York, Bologna, Siracusa, Padova, and Vermont. I love flea markets with endless rows of old and crazy finds and exploring new york for new and old things. If I'm out of the city, I'll be trying to get a dose of wilderness with hiking or camping..I love to travel and to collect inspiration from everywhere I go.

PHILOSOPHY

"I know of no more encouraging fact than the unquestionable ability of man to elevate his life by a conscious endeavor."
"Love to Cook, Cook to Love"

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have hosted a lot in the past, but currently trying to convert the roommates. Slowly slowly... =) I drop in the Revival meetings in NY when I can... and of course whenever I'm traveling to meet fellow Cs's wherever I am!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Madrid, Portugal, NY, Guatemala (Guate Amala Vos), Mexico, New Zealand, Athens, Berlin

Interests

Languages, Cooking,Dancing , Film, Traveling, Theatre, Reading, playing the harp, Scuba Diving, Art Installations, PHotography, Beaches and cliffy shores, mechanical machines, gardens, architecture, Hiking and camping, exploring

Music, Movies & Books

This is really hard for me since I forget the names of Everything! BUT I will update as I remember....First of all, The New York Times Sunday is my absolute favorite..
a few books......
The Unbearable Lightness of Being, The Lazarus Project, La Luna e I Falo, Rhinoceros, Blood Wedding,Heart of Darkness, Grendel, Slaughter House Five

A few Movies.....
Sex e Lucia, Respiro, Mediterannero, The Warrier, Delicatessen, The Decameron, The Loss of Sexual Innocence, The Lives of Others, Into the Wild, Across the Universe,

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I climbed down a mountain in Greece at 4 in the morning and accidentally ended up on a nude beach where i spent a week washing my dishes with sand, Climbed a Volcano, Lead a group of 11 high-school students to Italy for five weeks, Road Tripped across all of Canada and Western US with my sister when I was 15

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you a lot of random things like Morse Code, pattern making, dyeing with vegetables, Italian, how to make tiramisu or some yummy pasta,... can someone help me play soccer? or to dance better? help me with my spanish? I'm also interested in all kinds of artisan arts..

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Canada, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Panama, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Italy, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Lydia's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile