Alex Rulkens

Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 14% response rate
  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Designer, Entrepreneur, Musician
  • BSc in Industrial Design
  • From Sittard
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To meet people who are committed to positive and local change


I am a person who has always been making things. Ever since I was little I created sand castles, tree houses, wooden carts. I decided to be serious about this and started doing my design education.

After that I have been running my own company. We are stimulating creativity by helping people to create their own products. The feeling of creating something new and personal is something everybody should have experienced at least once!

Now, I realize I want to use my experience as a designer for a greater good, I want to work together with people and learn more about the incredible variety of cultures around the world. That's why I'm hosting and hoping to stay with interesting people.


Everything starts with respect for your fellow beings and yourself. Once you have that things and relationships tend to flow naturally. I would like to show that respect by meeting people all over the world and learning from my encounters.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I started hosting people because I want to get to know other perspectives, have original influences and make friends.


I have hosted a couple of people over the past month and it has been a great experience!

Last year I travelled through the americas and stayed in a great community in Palo Alto through CS, and I met some great CS'ers in Argentina!

visited 19 states (8.44%)Create your own visited map of The World


Music, dancing, a good conversation about how to improve the world and especially where to start.

I have a new hobby every few months. Things like origami, drawing, sculpture, forest walks, windsurfing, etc have all come by :)

Music, Movies, and Books

Music -

Currently, I'm completely into Gypsy Jazz (Django and his friends). So if you play some gypsy (guitar, double bass, violin, clarinet, flute, accordion), I'm definitely going to host you!

60's & 70's: Pink Floyd, the Doors, Rolling Stones, Beatles, Clearance Clearwater Revival, the Band, Jefferson Airplane, Leonard Cohen, Nick Drake, Simon & Garfunkel, Velvet Underground

New acoustics: Belle & Sebastian, Noah and the Whale, Sondre Lerche, Kings of Convenience, Calexico, The Shins, Thomas Dybdahl

Jazz: Miles Davis, Django Reinhardt, Stephane Grappelli, Joao Gilberto, Stan Getz, that sorta stuff. Lots of Gypsy!!

Basically, good music from the 70's, singer songwriters and any music that can reach into my soul. :)

I also play the guitar and the cello, so if you have either one of these instruments, maybe we can have a jam session?

TV: Breaking Bad, Weeds, Tegenlicht (dutch documentary series) and the Walking Dead (zombies, yeah!)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Walk out of a booking agency with a ticket in my hand to a destination at the other side of the world. The feeling of starting an adventure and being open for the experiences you encounter. And eventually, having that trip change the way you look at life and other people.

It was my first real trip, to Australia. It was awesome.

Teach, Learn, Share

I like to meet people from different cultures that can teach me. I want to become a designer and human being that integrates knowledge from all different disciplines into my own philosophy. If you're a maker, a thinker or a doer, let me know and we could build something together.

If you want to learn the guitar, I can help you, and if you want to learn salsa dancing or lindy hop, I can teach you the basics!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Italy, Norway, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In


Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups