Stewart and Jane Baker's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Stewart and Jane’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 11 References 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German, Japanese
  • 35, Other
  • Member since 2009
  • Stewart: Librarian Jane: Artist
  • Stewart: Masters in Library Science Jane: Bachelors in Fi...
  • From Stewart: UK / South Carolina Jane: Colorado
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To weird people out or have a good time, you pick.

ABOUT ME

Stewart: I am a librarian by trade, and a literature/languages nerd with a bunch of other equally nerdy interests. I write fiction and poetry, some of which has been published in small journals. I was born in the UK, but moved with my parents to South Carolina when I was around 6 years old. I've been an academic reference librarian at CSU Dominguez Hills (near Los Angeles) since 2008, and am also earning my MA in Literature at CSU Long Beach.

Jane: I'm mostly into drawing, reading, video games. I will be cooking unless someone else wants to cook except Stewart (he'll burn the place down). Unlike my husband I don't have much to say about myself.

PHILOSOPHY

We're very laid back.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We have two very small children (a 5-year-old and a 3-year-old), and are a little out of the way from things. We're probably not an ideal couchsurfing location, but if waking up at 6AM doesn't bother you, and you don't mind toddler toys strewn all over, we can probably accommodate you. We would work best as a sleeping location for someone with their own transportation, as we can't really do much touring around.

We live near Salem, Oregon's capital, and are about an hour and a half from Portland and 45 minutes from Corvallis. Stewart commutes to Western Oregon University Monday through Friday, at odd times of the day.

We also have two cats, so would not be the best place for allergy-sufferers.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

We've hosted a bunch of people, but all of them before we had kids. We've also had great experiences staying with CS folk in England (both of us) and Riverside (just Stewart).

Interests

  • cats
  • writing
  • literature
  • poetry
  • design
  • cooking
  • video games
  • reading
  • drawing
  • coding
  • animation
  • languages
  • beaches
  • mountains

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Peru

Teach, Learn, Share

Stewart: Research skills; writing; editing; English spelling/grammar; Japanese; web design and coding; general nerdiness

Jane: Drawing; computer graphics programs; 3D animation; cooking

Countries I’ve Visited

France, Japan, Peru, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Japan, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Stewart and Jane’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups