Thibaut GABRIEL's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 18 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Thibaut’s full profile.

Overview

  • 62 references 57 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish; learning Chinese, Turkish
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • No occupation listed
  • International stuff
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

🔥12/08/20 🌏 Still alive! Back on the road On my tiny bike, both Biking and Hitchhiking

I left my job, I‘m free and happy !! This year, I’m starting a hunt for smiles and stories, I’m a simple, positive and spontaneous guy who enjoys spontaneous things. I don’t need much to feed my happiness, especially when I’m given a foldable bike to hitchhike with. My final destination, Taïwan🇹🇼

My philosophy is that we learn the most through difficulties, I’m far from being born « traveler », I’m just trying to get out of my confort. I’m finding myself happier with less. I don’t plan anything, I don’t have expectation, I take what comes to me !

I have camping equipment and very good mobility, I want to meet people, I don’t care much about having a bed, I’d rather stay outside in my cosy tent as long as we get a chance to meet.

”By definition, growing means doing things you’ve never done before. It means stepping outside of your comfort zone and transforming the way you live
In order to experience who you should be, rather than simply living out what’s comfortable, you absolutely will need to do things that scare you. You’ll have to get used to doing things that might not work and open yourself up to criticism”
—A smart guy wrote that somewhere

📚That’s my current quest, I was not meant to be traveling like I do now and picturing myself doing it was scaring me only a few months ago. Hosting many travelers, socializing with refugees and traveling here and there slowly, but deeply changed me.
I’m now discovering people and not buildings, I’m dedicated to learning, understanding and experiencing more. I wish to get involved into as much as I can, get in touch with associations, work and help people as much as possible.

My traveling plan until Taiwan, I call it “How to meet some nice people”
🚗 Hitchhiking
🚲 Biking
🏕 Camping
🏄🏻‍♂️ Couchsurfing
I’m not using hostels, public transports nor restaurants. However I’m not looking to save money (sort of), I’m just doing the things I love !

Hitchhiking & Couchsurfing is my link to the people
Biking and camping are what makes me independent
Sharing (and eating) are what makes me happy

My new occupation is to make people smile, being a fool, playing the harmonica on my bike and doing everything that can be the icebreaker to a good mood

🌍If you’re curious, here’s my Travel Map 🚲

https://www.polarsteps.com/ThibautGabriel/3204947-truc-en-stop

But I always prefer direct contact on WhatsApp: +33 6 45 47 14 66

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Everyone has different hobbies and different visions of the beauty in life, I’m having a pleasure at trying to understand that

Languages, culture, stories and everything that makes life a bit more spicy.
I go somewhere to learn the language, talk to the people and understand their culture.

I would rather sleep on the couch at somebody's place than at a 5 star hotel 😃

Interests

I have random hobbies, often language and culture related. In any case, I’m curious about a lot of things and am very easily accessible !
Climbing 🧗‍♀️ Drawing ✍️ Hiking 🥾 Cooking🍳 , some chess♟.
I’d like to know more about music, plants, farming, yoga/meditation and nature in general🌱

  • culture
  • drawing
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • teaching
  • hitchhiking
  • photo
  • people
  • language
  • biking
  • climbing

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Lost my passport in Bolivia: 5/5⭐ "Highly recommend, would do it again"

Teach, Learn, Share

The only reason why I love traveling is because of the people, random encounterings and spontaneous planning.

(Oh and if you see this, I love cooking and half of my backpack is just food 🥘 🥞, let’s cook something !)

I can teach you how to lose your passport, head to an island when a typhoon is coming or break your bicycle in a desert !

Countries I’ve Visited

Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, France, Peru, Taiwan

Join Couchsurfing to see Thibaut’s full profile.