Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Darren’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 7 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Graduate Student, Critical Scholar, Activist Researcher
  • PhD
  • From Cleveland, Ohio
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


The Present is always my mission.


I'm a PhD student at York University in Toronto studying queer urban ecologies. I'm happy to share more if you want to know. I'm many other things too: a lover of dance and innovative music, a writer, a voracious reader, an open mind, a grounded body, a lover of conversation, cooking, and spontaneity.

I grew up in a working class family in the post-industrial paradise that is Cleveland, Ohio, USA. I am just now starting to travel the world while continuing to immerse myself in the types of exchange, interconnection, and experiential learning that I have been fortunately exposed to through my education, activism, and dear friendships over the years.

I'm excited to meet you.


Just for today don't get angry;
Just for today don't worry;
Just for today be grateful;
Just for today work hard;
Just for today be kind to others.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I am new to the community, but hope to participate as a surfer in a few of the countries which I plan to visit over the next several months. I see this as an opportunity to engage people in the context of their daily life - which I think is the finest way to learn about the rhythms and flows which make a place.


As I am a beginner, I don't have so much to share. I will happily update as soon as I do!


Electronic music (broadly), German minimal electronic music (more specifically), good food, good coffee, dark chocolate, critical theory, critical practice, contemporary/modern dance and performance, writing, and, on occasion, great television

  • writing
  • performing arts
  • dancing
  • education
  • dining
  • cooking
  • chocolate
  • coffee
  • traveling
  • music
  • electronic music
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

Most recent book I love: Rhythmanalysis (a classic for me)

Most recent music I am obsessed with: Sandro Perri

Mos recent film I've watched: Lilies (Canadian queer film!)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The empty streets of a crowded city.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can share:

I'd like to learn:
Anything you love to teach
What makes people change

Countries I’ve Visited

Czech Republic, France, Germany, Italy, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Hungary, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Darren’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups