Thomas Chesnay's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Thomas’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Japanese, Russian
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • Carpenter
  • Nice one ;)
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 75% complete

About Me

Well, I'm a 32 yo male, actually living in the south of France in a nice secluded place called "Lasalle" in the Cevennes National Park. Remote, quiet, river is nearby, and mountains on the other side, damn hot on summer and cold as a nice end of afternoon beer on winters.

I'm former waiter/cook/bartender/etc...i worked in london when i was still young...*sob*...a lil bit in Danemark too...I've visited a few places in europe (Italy, Greece, Spain, Germany...) and had been living the last year in Asia, mostly Macau, Hong Kong and a few time in Thailand (Chiang Mai)...

After the Catering jobs, i joined the army for a few years before i got injured and became an IT engineer. being bored of office and being a computer user psychanalyst xD

I changed occupation again to become a Carpenter...and i'm now attending the Naval Carpentry school.

My dream is to travel the world learning the different crafts about naval carpentry and build my own boat using the best of both modern and ancestral craftmanships. Then sail the world learning and teaching, writing and making documentories, scavanging ship wreck, and building more boats throughout the world...From Venice rowboat to Indonesian Pinisi, making some Viking drakkar along side, or Madagascar Fishing boats...well still a long way to go!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Because i plan to travel a lot, i like to meet new ppl and might as well keep some good friends from sharing. I can also host some passing by travelers, or maybe lend my lodging while i'm gone, if trust can set up!

I never did that, really i think it can be cool, and i can share back anytime. I'm easygoing still, sometime i'm not talkative too much, my bad ^^


  • #food
  • #martial arts
  • #woodenboat
  • #outdoor sports
  • #computer games

Music, Movies, and Books

Music : loves almost everything but really into old stuff like Deep Purple, Maiden, even Animals, but i also love some good Reggae or salsa music...really not into audio poison stuff, with below -9000 IQ lyrics...

Well real Shit ! Open The Doors of perception !

Movies : Everythin faking thing, i love TV!

Books : Not much of a reader...i mean books, because i have over 750 Mangas at home...everyone his Kinks xD

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Amazing to me so far? None!

To people who knows me, maybe they will say a lot...but i don't take it for granted, let keep it simple keep amazing for later!

Teach, Learn, Share

Everything about cooking, from French food to asian, and also a lot of junk food from all over the world...or, i don't know how to put that in english, but you'll get the idea pretty easily " Suicide gastronomique" ! (like a fried camembert burger with bacon and honey/mustard sauce - Don't do it at home ; )

Computer issues, i can deal with (hate last OS tho...and don't hand me your Apple crap you filthy ignorant)!

Carpentry, small home work...yeah i like, and yes i can mix a salad without spilling any...but i'm not here to get married !

Learn : a quest...every new learning is nice, from a plant or bird name to a car mechanic, or basic physics. I really want to learn Japanese/Russian/italian/Spanish and Portuguese...but i'm only fast learning the first 2 Sniff!

Share, we all have to share, a story, some attention, something to discover or taste...i keep it open minded !

What I Can Share with Hosts

Well, if you come to lasalle, you might as well be lost but i can help you find your way around here, nice trek trails, river to fish, rivers to swim, rivers to take photos because it's too damn cold...killer mountain sightseeing...

Yeah i'm kinda retired so i have a lot of free times ! ;)p

(Not for long)

Countries I’ve Visited

Denmark, Germany, Greece, Italy, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Hong Kong, Macao, Thailand

Join Couchsurfing to see Thomas’s full profile. It’s free!