Thomas Magnum's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login 6 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Thomas’s full profile.


  • 2 references 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Norwegian Bokmål; learning Spanish
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • Self- Employed, consultant in spare time
  • Master's Degree in International Relations
  • From Norway
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Returned home last year after 5 years abroad getting my degree.
I love traveling, meeting new people and learning new things about people and the world.

I had friends and acquaintances from all over the world when I was studying, and I appreciated the variety in people's interests and outlooks, the different food (I am a foodie:), drinks and peculiar customs.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I admit it, it is mostly for selfish reasons; I miss speaking English, I miss meeting new people and traveling as much as I used to, so this is the closest I can get to the real thing :-)

I also draw genuine happiness from helping people .


  • writing
  • books
  • partying
  • politics
  • news
  • video games
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • exploring new places
  • firearms
  • polaroid

Music, Movies, and Books

Variety is the spice of life is my guiding principle here, obviously I have favorites but they are too numerous to be mentioned here.

I am trying to read more books after a few years of studying destroyed my will to read anymore than I absolutely had to :P
I am working my way through the classics to fill the voids in my general education.

I do tend to read anything by Christopher Hitchens or Ernest Hemingway if any of their books happens to be lying around. I thoroughly enjoy George Friedman's books about the future of Geo Politics as well.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Rented a car and drove across the USA (LA - Miami)

Teach, Learn, Share

I subscribe to the notion that every person you meet knows at least one thing that you don't . The trick of course is to find what that is and to get it out of them :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Apartment in the city center of Sandnes (10 minute train ride outside of Stavanger)

Plenty of hiking opportunities,lakes, and mountains, ranging from small 30 minute hikes, to full day excursions, (This is where Stavanger people come to experience nature, and get a workout in the fresh air)

1 minute walk to the train station, 2 minute walk to the bus station, restaurants and malls within 500 m.

Laughter, wine and good company. I'll do my best to answer any questions, and help you with the small practical things that one runs into when visiting a new country.

I know the good and the bad , the do's and don'ts of my own culture and will be happy to share the insight with you :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Cuba, Denmark, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Lithuania, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Philippines, Saint Martin (French part), Scotland, Sint Maarten (Dutch part), Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Norway, Thailand

Join Couchsurfing to see Thomas’s full profile.