Thomas White's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 21 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Thomas’s full profile.

Overview

  • 70 references 63 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Japanese; learning Chinese (Simplified), Dutch, French, Russian
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • Student
  • KU Leuven
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I just started to vlog and my YouTube channel is “Unbearable Long Journeys”
https://youtu.be/X5tHM0ksssI

I grew up in Japan (the south in Kyushu and also near Tokyo), then I moved to the US (I'm Japanese and American btw). I lived in Missouri, USA for a few years, and have done my studies in Brussels. Now I live nomadically in various places. I have traveled quite a bit over the past three years, but I am looking to travel even more in the coming years because you can never travel enough. I am not looking to hit tourist sites or major places, but to experience daily life with the locals in places I travel. I can confidently say that I am a truly spontaneous person addicted to adrenaline and is willing to do anything crazy/risky on the spot!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am very interested in travelling around various parts of the world, and I think it would be much better to explore an area or country with a person from that place. With the opportunity couchsurfacing gives, I think I can get an authentic experience of the place I am visiting and experience life as it is in the country instead of being a tourist. I am also interested in meeting new people from places I travel, and being with people with an open mind to creating new experiences. Looking forward to going on walks, exploring random places, and having some conversations over a cup of coffee/pint of beer!

Some (partially) unrecognised countries and territories that I have visited that Couchsurfing doesn't list as an option: Catalunya
I am not saying these places are real countries or not, that is for you to decide. I am just listing it because at least some people claim it to be a country.

Autonomous territories I've visited:
Gorno-Badakshan
Karakalpakstan
Ningxia
Sardinia
Zanzibar

Interests

  • darts
  • poker
  • hockey
  • geography
  • history
  • adventure travel
  • travel
  • football
  • cultures
  • playing football
  • watching football
  • celtic

Music, Movies, and Books

Metal, Rap, edm

Books: Philosophical books and various autobiographies. Thus Spoke Zarathustra, 1984

Let's talk more when we meet!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Surviving a 31.5 hour Chinese slow train ride on a standing ticket

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach football. I am an avid supporter of football, particularly Celtic FC.
I am fluent in Japanese and English, competent in French, and am learning various languages.
I am interested to learn about the daily lives of people in various areas of the world
Cooking, as I cook almost everyday of the year, and I have an interest in making something new and discovering new recipes.
Any adventure, even dangerous things I'm in

What I Can Share with Hosts

An experience of living in three different continents and seeing the cultural differences among the various areas.
I can also share information on various academic topics since I am in to history and geography.

Countries I’ve Visited

Afghanistan, Andorra, Austria, Bangladesh, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, Croatia, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Maldives, Malta, Nepal, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Pakistan, Philippines, Portugal, Scotland, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Vatican City State, Wales, Zambia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, China, Japan, Kyrgyzstan, Tanzania, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Thomas’s full profile.