Logo orange

Thomas Young

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Thomas's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 8 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • From Caringbah, New South Wales, Australia
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To see the world....

ABOUT ME

Hi I'm Tom and I'm from Sydney Australia. After studying Public Health from the University of Wollongong, I decided to head overseas to seek adventure from my very large island home. While I'm away I plan on living out a life of great adventure and experience, I plan on seeing cultures and histories that just can't be learned from textbooks and basically understand how the world turns. I want to see how people live there lives from one side of the globe to the other, what are the most important aspects of our life are and see how we can change the things that hold us back from truely enjoying life's experiences. I hope to one day dedicate myself to meaningful work in the field of Public Health working with NGO´s worldwide in relation to Mental health and community development and I hope by doing this I can have a positive effect on this planet. Apart from the noble desire to change the world, I am a very relaxed and mature individual. I love to laugh and sometimes be laughed at. I love learning new things, broadening my horizons and meeting new people. I hope that Couchsurfing will help me to achieve what it is that I want whilst at the same time helping others. Let's find out together!

Hola soy Tom de Australia. Después de estudiar una carrera de Salud Publica, decidí a irme fuera de Australia en la gran búsqueda de aventura, felicidad y algo mas de la vida. Cuando estoy fuera, tengo planes a vivir con experiencias distintas y nuevas, aprender como funciona este mundo, como vivir la gente de este mundo y obtener un gran aprecio de mi casa en la isla mas grande del mundo! Después de todos mis viajes, quiero trabajar con ONG's por Las Americas con relación a salud mental y desarrollo de comunidad y con eso ojalá pueda tener un efecto positivo en este mundo. Aparte del plan tan noble de cambiar este mundo, soy un hombre sencillo pero relajado. Me encanta aprender nuevas cosas, conocer gente de todos partes y existir en un gran medio ambiente de diversión y felicidad. Opino que Couchsurfing va a permitirme hacer todo lo que quiero y a la vez, ayudar la gente a lograr las mismas cosas que yo. ¡Vamos a ver juntos!

PHILOSOPHY

At 24, I can't afford to be tooo philosophical but if I had to say something it would be that I definately pride myself and define myslef who is someone who is constantly looking for ways to enjoy life for what it is. Trying to stray from my past materialistic and unrealistic expectations on life and just live life becuase its a bloody great thing. I pursue happiness in almost all aspects of my life, try to avoid confrontation and stress and above all do amazing things now so in 20 years time I can look back and be so super proud that I have done all these amazing things in the most amazing period of my life. Boom. There you have it - take it or leave it :-)

One day when I am slightly older and a whole lot more mature, I will find myself in a 9-5 job with major responsibilities and commitments. But for now, I'm jSo there, thats my philosòphy.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

At the moment, I plan on learning from other hosts as I travel through South America. As I am very new to this, I would like to understand exactly what it means to be a great CS host so I can repay the future next year and for many years to come. I would also love to attend meetings and gatherings to meet great like-minded people. I hope in time I can be a great host in Sydney Australia.

En este momento, tengo la intención a aprender un poco del mundo de CS mientras viajando Sudamérica. Llevo muy poco tiempo con CS y por eso, quiero saber y entender la mejor manera utilizar CouchSurfing como 'host' y como 'surfer' y con eso funcionar como ambos el año que viene en Sidney Australia. A mi me gustaría asistir los reuniones de CS en Sidney y posiblemente en el camino de Sudamérica para conocer gente guay y interesante. Espero que pueda ser buen 'host' y 'surfer' en dentro de poco!!!

Interests

I love to travel. This is a bit strange for someone who hasn´t really done a lot of (adventure) travelling but I am dedicating the next 4 years of my life to scaling the globe. Starting with the Americas in 2011 (Fairbanks, USA to Ushuaia, Argentina 5months), Africa in 2012 (Johannesburgh to Marrakesh 3months), Asia 2013 (Istanbul to Bali 5months) and Europe 2014 (London to Vladivostok 4months). This is going to be phenomenal.

Other than travelling I love music. I play music (piano, clarinet, saxophone, guitar badly and singing....well you´ll see´..haha) and listen to music )see below and collect music and I will until the day I die. I love music festivals a la Benicassim 2011 or Primavera Sound 2011 but I prefer real sweet concerts in funky or intimate venues a la Ray Lamontagne @ L´Olympia Paris, 2011 )which was out of this world. Maybe we will see a concert together!

Music, Movies & Books

Movies are fantastic especially:// A mi me encanta las películas como: Into The Wild, Gran Torino, Diarios de Motocicleta, Match Point, Vicky Christina Barcelona, The Way Back, Little Miss Sunshine, Man On Fire, Up, Slumdog Millionaire, The Departed, The Blind Side azuloscurocasinegro, amongst others….

Try as I may, I cannot live without music. The best of the rest include://Es cierto. No puedo vivir sin musica. Paso mucho tiempo escuchando musica de: Arcade Fire (CAN), The National (USA), Fleet Foxes (USA), Beirut (USA), Sigur Rós (Iceland), Bon Iver (USA), Angus & Julia Stone (AUS), Laura Marling (UK) Tallest Man On Earth (SWE), Ray Lamontagne (USA), Boy & Bear (AUS), The Middle East (AUS), The Avett Brothers (USA), Damien Rice (IRE), Radiohead (UK) Architecture In Helsinki (AUS), Bliss N Eso (AUS), The Cat Empire (AUS), Mumford & Sons (UK), Johnny Flynn (UK), Kings Of Convenience (NOR), Death Cab For Cutie (USA), Coldplay (UK), The Panics (AUS), Shout Out Louds (SWE), Ben Folds (USA), and many more….¡y mucho más!

Just recently I have rediscovered the need to read. I hope it turns into a passion, but for now it is a work in progress. Lately I have read: // Hace poco tiempo, he redescubierto a leer. No me gusta mucho leer especialmente cuando puedo escuchar musica. Ojalá se convierta en una pasion pero poco a poco. Recientemente he leído: Hacia rutas Salvajes (John Krakauer), One Day (David Nichols), El Diario de Greg: Un pringao total (Jeff Kinney) and un mogollón de Lonely Planet (Sudamerica para Mochileros!)

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Leaving Australia in search of adventure was by far the most amazing and unbeatable moments in my life. Since then I have: -Learned Spanish and spoke with locals in Madrid -Teach English in Soria Spain and realise that a skill which you find is so easy and natural, can be so important to someone else -Jonsi -Let Go Tour- London, 2010 -Hiking to the 'Magic Bus' along the Stampede Trail with compatriot Scott Chambers, September 2011 -Northern Lights in Fairbanks Alaska, September 2011

THIS LIST WILL GROW ALSO IN TIME!!

Teach, Learn, Share

This section excites me a lot. With the possibility to meet and mingle with people worldwide, I hope to teach, learn and share as much until my head explodes.

La idea de enseñar y aprender cosas de gente de todos partes del mundo me da mucho emoción. ¡Muero de ganas de aprender y enseñar tantas cosa hasta que mi cabeza estalla!

I can teach you//Te puedo enseñar: Music: Piano or clarinet Language: English,Spanish OTHER: how to make a paper crane (papiroflexia), my super cool hand ocarina, drive on the left side of road!!!,

I want to learn//Quiero aprender:

How to make origami/Papiroflexia

Music: Flamenco guitar, cello, pretty much anything Language: French, portuguese, ISL sign lanuage OTHER: how to make paella (como hacer paella), more oragami, yoga, playing with those fire thingamajigs, learning to ride a longboard (skateboard), shoot a gun (responsibly of course) THIS LIST WILL GROW IN TIME!!

Countries I've Visited

Canada, China, France, Italy, New Zealand, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Spain, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Thomas's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile