David and Cayla Thompson's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 33% response rate
  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see David and Cayla’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 24 References 19 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 35, Other
  • Member since 2010
  • Agriculture economic development, developmental service w...
  • David - B.A. & MBA in Community Economic Development,...
  • From Oshawa and Thessalon, ON
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT US

We have a baby boy who is under 2 and he is wonderful. We would like to expose him to different cultures and hopefully use couchsurfing to eventually travel more with him around the world. I am passionate about Jesus, community and family. I love to cross country ski, run, play guitar, DJ, play baseball and read.

PHILOSOPHY

Change the wind

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I want to host people in my home and fill a couch that gets pretty lonely at night. Cayla and I want to travel to Europe sometime and even some more in North America and I'm hoping this could be a great way to meet lots of people.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

We've had a lot of great surfers so far! We love to take people hiking, have delicious bbq and go out with friends from the Sault.

Interests

guitar, travel, design, God, social justice, coffee, sustainability, healthy food and fitness, dancing, vinyl and cooking.

  • culture
  • design
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • bbq
  • fitness
  • running
  • traveling
  • knitting
  • guitar
  • hiking
  • skiing
  • baseball
  • business
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

In no particular order: Wilco, Roald Dahl, Spoon, The Shining, My Morning Jacket, the Bible. Cayla loves Daft Punk and Chemical Brothers and My Bloody Valentine, the Jesus and Mary Chain.

Movies - Jaws, Inglorious Basterds, True Romance

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Traveled to Colombia to spend time with coffee farmers and artists... and getting married, becoming parents. We welcomed baby Thompson in December 2013.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach on matters of social change, business and DJing. My wife can teach on matters of behavioral science, knitting, and pop culture references.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A comfortable and laid back atmosphere. Keep in mind we do have a small child under 2.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, Colombia, Cuba, Italy, Mexico, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Germany, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see David and Cayla’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups