Tim's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 93% response rate
  • Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tim’s full profile.


  • 16 references 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish; learning Dutch, Swedish
  • 66, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Psychologist/ Teacher
  • English Literature and Psychology degrees
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Travel is my first love. Easing off the world of work, involved in personal development for many years to immerse myself in the life of other countries. Love to spend time outside, learning about nature, but also enjoy passing through vibrant cities.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Because it's simply the best way of meeting people with a real interest in other cultures.


Too many! From kayaking, bicycling, languages, through just understanding as much as I can about this world. Could be via psychology, anthropology, discussing politics or football.

  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • kayaking
  • camping
  • sailing
  • anthropology
  • teaching
  • languages
  • psychology

Music, Movies, and Books

Manu Chao because they make music in all kinds of languages. Music that gives me energy and makes me want to dance. Electronic, pagode or axe from Brazil, Rolling Stones - the range is pretty wide.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hitch-hiked across the USA and down through Mexico and Central America to Costa Rica. Can I add another? Kayaking in Svalbard, Norway in the ice and along the San Blas Islands, Panama. But perhaps my strongest memory is sailing across the Atlantic - now that was special.

Teach, Learn, Share

English language - was trained as a teacher. Can also teach German and four 'Romance' languages, best of which is Spanish. Kayaking and spending time camping outdoors. Happy always to share in housework, cooking, cleaning up and information about over 70 countries.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A lively conversation, food and drink. And with guests - a walk along the seafront or around town, some hours of conversation, sharing meals. No one night stays please.

Countries I’ve Visited

Afghanistan, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bahrain, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, England, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Guernsey, Honduras, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Ireland, Isle of Man, Italy, Jersey, Jordan, Kenya, Kuwait, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Northern Ireland, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Qatar, Russian Federation, Saint Martin (French part), Saudi Arabia, Scotland, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Virgin Islands, British, Virgin Islands, U.S., Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Bahrain, Denmark, France, Germany, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Tim’s full profile.

My Groups