Tim OBrien's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tim’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Attorney
  • University of Illinois
  • From Champaign, IL, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I currently work as an attorney in Chicago. Leaving my job soon to travel indefinitely.

Trying to broaden my perspectives, meet and connect with all different types of people, while gaining some insight into social development and reform wherever the path takes me.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Better to stay with people in their homes to immerse more naturally in a new country or city. I enjoy staying in hostels and visiting the tourist sites, but will opt for crashing with a local if I can.

I open my couch up to people and have had invaluable experiences with friends and strangers doing the same for me. Hopefully being part of this community will let me do more of both.

Interests

I like all of the above, but most of all making friends, and sharing in their likes and interests. Looking to do more listening, observation, and immersion this year rather than being confined to my own list of interests.

  • singing
  • running
  • live music
  • piano
  • hiking
  • tennis
  • travel
  • food
  • making friends

Music, Movies, and Books

Recent reads include Happy Potter and Cien Años de Soledad in Spanish.

No rhyme or reason to my music interests. I spend about as much time playing and singing to music as listening.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I spent two weeks in Nepal last year, which was brief, but long enough to be amazed by the courage and kindness demonstrated by nearly everyone I met in a country ravaged by natural disasters in recent years.

Teach, Learn, Share

Estoy tratando de aprender español, así que estoy siempre en busca de pacientes hablantes nativos para practicar.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Good attitude. Friendliness. Cleanliness. And happy to contribute around the house to make myself useful. All hosts are greatly appreciated.

Countries I’ve Visited

Cambodia, Chile, China, Greece, Japan, Nepal, Norway, Qatar, Spain, Thailand, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Tim’s full profile. It’s free!