Logo orange

Nigel McCarron

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Accepting Guests

25% response rate · Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nigel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 52 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning German
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Customs Clearance/Logistics officer
  • Bachelor of Business (Maritime and L...
  • From Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

In training to tack the Great Wall of China in a marathon! Yes that's right not a 42km section of the wall which is my first challenge of 2015
great-wall-marathon.com

ABOUT ME

I am an easygoing, confident, outgoing individual. People who know me would say i'm a good communicator and listen to what people have to say. In my career i'm dedicated, hardworking and always set out goals which I know I can achieve. I believe no one was born prefect and therefore am looking for ways in which I can improve myself as a person and learn from what other people have to say in providing their own views. I believe variety is the spice of life and I can achieve this through travel and interacting with different cultures and people. Being brought up in Brisbane and on a farm I have had a life on the land with horses and cattle while also having a varied city life.

Attending an all boys private college and finishing my university degree in maritime logistics at AMC I established a working career over 4 years. In 2008 after traveling a few years I decided to move to Whistler Canada to prepare for the winter Olympics and live and breathe it.

After spending a few years traveling a few months to Asia and Europe in 2006 and 2007 I decided to head to New Zealand for a while and then headed to Vancouver in Early 2009 and bought a Van and spent the good part of summer 2009 driving down the West Coast and living in it. I returned to Vancouver and Whistler for the Winter Olympics which was a great experience working the ski jump and down hill ski course.

After the Winter Games in March I decided to drive 6000km north to the Yukon, North-West Territories and Alaska and spend time living in my van in the Spring. I followed the Yukon River to Nunavut and spent time in Mount McKinley National Park with sled dogs. After completing a total round trip of 12,000km I arrived back in Vancouver and decided to drive across Canada to Toronto by June I left my car here and headed to Central America for 4 months from Mexico to Panama City experiencing the great cultures and learning some Spanish on the way

Before returning to Toronto I toured 2 months in Poland, Austria, Denmark and Sweden before heading back for the Winter In Toronto. I spent the last winter in this great city and now with the spring here I am starting out again for the East Coast. Starting in Boston, DC, Philadelphia, Nashville, Memphis, Austin, Miami to name a few. Then two weeks in Hawaii to get warmed up for destination Australia so can't wait to spend some time again in my home town after a long time away :)

UPDATE: After spending just a week back home I thought while looking for work and waiting to hear back from employer why not utilise my time better so a mate Brendon from Joburg I had met in my travels we both decided to set out on another adventure by bike. Starting from Wilsons Promintory on 1st August we will cycle 3500km to Cairns over 40 days with 10 sections of about 300 to 400km averaging 90km per day. We both have never undertook a physical and mental challenge like this but thought life's short so do now than put it off :)

PHILOSOPHY

My philosphy on life is to learn by interacting with different cultures, people and places. From this I can learn how to better improve my lifestyle while travelling. Now my number one passion, I want to share my experiences with other people, the signs and sounds, people and places which make life an endless adventure. With CS this will allow me to achieve these goals and give me more purpose in life and not to just sit around working a 9 to 5 job and spend the rest of my life wondering what is out there? Instead I am living life now and when I am older I would have gained a wealth of knowledge to pass onto other people and have felt I had lived a full life thanks to travel through CS as a medium.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

After my friend told me about Couching Surfing and already being a keen traveler I wanted to be apart of the CS community and donate. I have traveled all over north America over the last 2 years CS along the way but have finally settled in Toronto and attend CS meetings and events. I have recently moved into my own place and am now hosting travelers just like myself to give back to those who opened their door to me.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have had many great CS experiences especially in Alaska as there is nothing quite like it up in the great north. The people are so friendly such as a park ranger who hosted me in Mckinley National Park and he his own dog sled team so we went mushing.

Interests

I like to keep fit by doing regular gym and outdoor aerobics, I was brought up on a farm so horseriding and jumping shows I was keen on. I moved to the GoldCoast and did lifesaving and loved the beach lifestyle with surfing and playing beach volleyball. In winter I enjoy skiing but have tried snow boarding as a challenge. I would always enter 10km and half marathons as I loved the challenge of improving my personal best time as well as the fitness side and competition. I was into music playing the clarinet at a younger age and then guitar in my later years. I have a keen interest in singing and tried out in a number of singing contests like Australia Idol.

Music, Movies & Books

Music i like to listen to is rnb, dance, reggae, light rock and alternative. Bands are matchbox 20, The Fray, Snow Patrol, Kings of Leon, Crowded House.

I like to watch movies based on real life events but also epics and action. My favorites are braveheart, titanic, green mile, shawshank redemption, Ray, Raging Bull, Good Fellas and Catch me if you can!

Books they I have liked reading are Davinci Code, Lord of the Rings, twilight, Lord of the flies and harry potter.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I have been to China to see the Beijing Olympics, Terracotta Warriors and Great wall. In Thailand I saw the royal palace made of Gold Leaf and the Great Gold Buddha. In Australia seen the great barrier reef and Ayers Rock. Watching the sun rise over the grand canyon. Climbing mount Bromo volcano in Surabaya. Alaska with Mount Mckinley the tallest mountain in north America to mushing in the Yukon and standing at the Artic Circle.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Costa Rica, Denmark, El Salvador, France, Guatemala, Honduras, Indonesia, Japan, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Panama, Poland, Thailand, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Canada, Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Nigel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile