Timm Dobert's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Timm’s full profile.

Overview

  • 22 references 19 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Postdoctoral Research Associate
  • Tertiary
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a conservation biologist with a PhD in Global Change Ecology. Following 10+ years in the Asia-Pacific region, I have recently taken on a job as a Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Canada. Most of my recent research took place in the tropics, primarily Borneo, India and Thailand. I will now shift my focus to colder climates and investigate the relationship between carbon dynamics and biodiversity values across Canadian prairies.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

The tremendous joy of experiencing the diversity in people from around the globe.

Interests

I am passionate about nature conservation and love spending my free time in the outdoors.

  • wildlife
  • photography
  • cooking
  • fitness
  • reading
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • rowing
  • ecology
  • adventure travel
  • mountains
  • road cycling
  • nature conservation

Music, Movies, and Books

I enjoy listening to Tamino, Jack Savoretti, Coldplay, Live and Ray Wilson. Favourite movies include Walter Mitty and Shawshank Redemption. I mostly read natural history and travel books, the likes of Peter Matthiessen, Tim Flannery and Wilfred Thesiger.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Lived over two years in a hammock in the tropical rainforests in Borneo amongst orangutans, clouded leopards and Asian elephants.

What I Can Share with Hosts

The thrill of connecting to a complete stranger.
Travel tales.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bhutan, Cambodia, Canada, Czech Republic, France, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Italy, Laos, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Morocco, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Poland, Romania, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Canada, Germany, India, Malaysia, New Zealand, Thailand, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Timm’s full profile.