Timothy Wan's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 13 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Timothy’s full profile.

Overview

  • 1 reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese (Simplified), Japanese, Malay
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2022
  • Student
  • English Literature, National University of Singapore
  • From Singapore
  • Profile 75% complete

About Me

Hi there, it's nice to meet you! I'm Timothy, a graduate student in English Literature from Singapore. I'm planning to do some research into short stories, and if you have any you'd like to share, please do! (I can even read it while I'm visiting, because, well – they're short.) In my free time, I play badminton, go for walks, and journal.

I LOVE stories. When I travel, I find that a good story about a place or a cuisine makes each sight all the more beautiful, and each taste all the richer. Same with people – I often find that what I remember most about my trips are the people I get to meet, and I'd love to connect with people over a walk or a coffee. I love finding out what people find most meaningful to them, and just seeing how rich and full the world is.

On that note, I'll put this out there: the most meaningful thing I can find is believing in Jesus. You might disagree with me, and that's okay! I'm happy to chat about it – or not, if you'd rather not. That said, I really do enjoy learning about people's views on faith, whatever they may be, and sharing that, because it's a pretty big part of my life.

So that's about me, as much as I can squeeze into an online profile. To put it briefly: I don't know you yet, but I'd like to!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm on Couchsurfing because I want to get to know people, and moreover to know places through people. As much as I can, I want to see this place through your eyes – what does it mean to you? It isn't easy to get to meet people outside of our existing social circles (and countries), and being on CS helps!

And even as I get to meet hosts who are generous enough to share their space and their time, I hope also to be able to do some good to the hosts too. Let me know if and how I can be of help, and I'll do my best!

Interests

  • chess
  • reading
  • badminton
  • history
  • nature
  • counseling
  • learning
  • musicals
  • journaling
  • theology
  • deep talks
  • close reading

Music, Movies, and Books

Music – I enjoy folk music, 60s music (I'm thinking The Beatles and Peter, Paul and Mary), and 80s music (Queen? Elton John? Let's go); I'm also impartial to musicals, whether from a theatrical production or a movie – so Hamilton, Come From Away, Les Miserables, and so on. I'm trying to get into Mandopop and Japanese music too!

Movies – La La Land (2017) is great; Inside Out; Steve Jobs; Get Out; Black Mirror.

Books:
1. The City & the City (China Mieville) – great sci/fi detective novel with a brilliant premise
2. Man's Search for Meaning (Victor Frankl)
3. Les Miserables (Victor Hugo) – weird flex? perhaps.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

One amazing thing I've done is performing with a choir a couple of years ago! I'm not much of a performer but I do love singing – so I'm glad I got out there and did it.

Teach, Learn, Share

If you're learning English, I'd be happy to teach. If you're learning Japanese or Mandarin, I'd be happy to practise that with you too. I can do some basic ukulele playing too, but I'm guessing that if you own one, your skill level may be as good as mine!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Well, I'd be happy to share more about my own experiences! If you've ever wondered what living in Singapore is like (or anything else about that!) I'd be more than willing to talk about that.

In terms of hard skills? Well, if by any chance you'd like something edited, give me a shout. If there's something I can help out with around the house let me know as well!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Singapore, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Timothy’s full profile.