Tim Sippala's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tim’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 132 References 50 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Finnish, Russian; learning Chinese, Croatian, Estonian, German, Malay, Swedish, Ukrainian
  • 53, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Volunteer English and Finnish teacher
  • I don't live there. I have no home. I am a nomad vegan.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

LATEST NEWS

3/2017 : March 11th flying from HCMC to Bangkok. 14/3 Bagnkok - Almaty. About 20 hours stay in Almaty. What to do?. 15/3 Arriving at Kyiv Ukraine. Will be teaching Finnish and English. May: Finland. June 11th: Flying from Helsinki to Hanoi, travelling by train to HCMC and then back home in Lai Vung.

12/2016 - 3/2017: living in a small village in Southern Vietnam with my girlfriend and her family, Sa Dec, Lai vung.

2016: Что я делаю и хочу больше делать в Украине, можете видеть зедсь. Там можно и видео смотреть.
http://vk.com/teachertim
.....................................................................................................................

INTRODUCTION

Finland is my original country but I do not stay there. What you can see above under my name is where I am now, if staying in one place more than a week. I do not get my address verified because the system is too slow for me :)

Mature male, over 50, happy to be your grandfather while you are away from your real one LOL.

* I am peaceful but talkative, friendly.
* I do not need alcohol, cigarettes or other drugs to be all that I want to be.
* I am vegan, it is strict vegetarian,
* I like to meet people who do yoga and meditation, are vegan and vegetarian, Chinese, Vietnamese, Buddhists, East European... just for reference, not to judge or discriminate anyone, just an example on what kind of people I usually get most along with. Still I am open to other kinds of people too, willing to get surprised and learn to like new things.

* Physically I am not fit, my eyes are bad so I need to go slowly and carefully, but I can walk over 40 km a day (30 over miles I think, I am not a mathematician ;) ). Yes, sometimes I need help like anyone does, but still independent and experienced traveller.

Here is a video promoting me as a volunteer English teacher
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G2sh_nLv6P4&feature=em-upload_owner

More about me in my legacy profile https://www.couchsurfing.com/users/1694053/profile/legacy

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am retired from IT work in Europe and Australia. Not much money but enough to travel if stay homeless and live simple nomadic life.
I do not like sit at home, not watch TV (can not see haha). I like to meet people, talk to them, do easy hiking, walking and easy yoga sometimes.
From young and friendly people I can get positive energy. From anyone I can learn and with like-minded souls I can feel like at home.

If not couchsurfing - then tourist groups and hotels with other old people. Yikes, no thank you. I really enjjoy the backpacking, cuchsurfing lifestyle. Without it no point to travel.

And when too old and sick I will get a house and invite my CS friends to stay as guests :) It may be after 2040 so stay tuned ....

Interests

Nice people, friendship, nature, walking, light hiking, vegan food, vegetarian lifestyle, animals, nature, ecology, environment, sustainable living, community work, languages, Russian, Finnish, English, teaching, studying, yoga, meditation.

I like Asia and Asians, especially those culture where being vegan, vegetarian is appreciated. Gentle Buddhism and spirituality is for me. I am

Music, Movies, and Books

* Ajahn Brahm https://youtu.be/H94Dz4Iq2d4
* Egor Letov, https://youtu.be/Gd3DEtbxP30
* GrOb https://youtu.be/u69gjq0_crk
* Kirtan https://youtu.be/wiyoxwD41Cc
* chanting, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iG_lNuNUVd4
* Sibelius https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=adKwG9ZuzFw
* Birds https://youtu.be/239d5JM161Q?t=2h52m19s
* Finnish rock https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i9Xz957qRso
SILENCE,

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Migrated to Australia.

Teach, Learn, Share

English, Finnish Russian language. European, Australian, Asian culture and lifestyle. Life experience and all my travels.

I am a volunteer English teacher and motivational speaker
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G2sh_nLv6P4

What I Can Share with Hosts

Walk, talk, life experience, vegan lifestyle and food.

I can help people with English conversation. I speak slowly and clearly.

Potential hosts: please note that I snore at night. I can not help it. So, if you want to host me, please not that. If it is too much for you, then we can just meet up. Most contacts here are just with people that I meet up for a lunch or coffee or walk.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cambodia, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Germany, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Laos, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malaysia, Montenegro, Norway, Philippines, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Finland, Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    6 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Tim’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups