Logo orange

Martina Pock

Graz, Styria, Austria

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 18 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Martina's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 18 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, German, Spanish; learning Japanese
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • university student
  • No education listed
  • From Linz
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

The boarders of my languages are the boarders of my world

ABOUT ME

Hey to whoever is taking the time to read through my profile :)

My name's Martina, I'm a 22 year old university student from Graz and I always enjoy the company of people who want to spend time with me. I'm studying English and Spanish in order to become a language teacher and I've just started working on my diploma thesis. At the moment I'm living at at students' dorm, so I can't host people, but I'm always happy to show you around and have one or two drinks with you :)

I'm open-minded, easy-going and I love sharing experiences with travellers visiting my city.

PHILOSOPHY

"Never judge a book by its cover"
"The boarders of my languages are the boarders of my world"

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'd like to participate in CS through showing people around in Linz, my city of birth and Graz, the city where I'm attending university, which I consider one of the most beautiful cities in the world. I'd also like to help people who are already staying in Linz or Graz should they have to overcome obstacles of any kind

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I went to Salamanca, where I spent a very nice afternoon with Luna, her flatmates and some fellow surfers and in April some friends of mine and me spent an amazing time in Paris with Karen and her boyfriend, who were amazing hosts. About two years ago I travelled Japan and stayed there with Yumi who was an amazing hostess and real fun talking to. I've really enjoyed all of these experiences and hope to be able to add a few more as time goes on.

Interests

I'm interested in reading, going out, meeting new people, watching TEDtalks, having a good time with friends, listening to music..all of the things that brighten up life. My biggest interest however is travelling and learing new languages in order to understand different cultures and customs.

Music, Movies & Books

I totally adore the "Drop dead diva" and "Avis de mistral" ( I really love French cinema production which means that I really need to start learning French soon ;) ).......and all movies staring Jonny Depp, of course.
I like all kinds of music so I would need ages to type all band and song names but some of them are "Birds of Tokyo", "Linkin' Park", "Efecto mariposa", "Amaral", "David Bisbal".....

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I've seen the Tower Bridge in London which deeply impressed me and the Alhambra in Cordoba; I've visited a robot restaurant in Tokyo, which was pretty amazing and I've visited Paul McCartney birth place ;)

Teach, Learn, Share

I can share my knowledge about the places I've already visited and my dearest wish is to replace the totally false picture people have from Austria after watching "The Sound of Music" which I consider one of the most horrible movies ever made, through one that actually fits reality. In the last few years the wish of understanding other educational systems has been added to my list of things I want to learn and understand. I'm taking a teaching degree in English and Spanish and I think we simply learn most by interchanging ideas on a global scale.

What I Can Share With Hosts

I can share all of my languages with you, Austrian chocolate (which is pretty awesome) and Austrian wine(which isn't bad either)

Countries I've Visited

Croatia, Egypt, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Austria

Join Couchsurfing to see Martina's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile