Logo orange

Tobias Doll

Berlin, Berlin, Germany

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tobias's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 15 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Greek (modern)
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • I'm a student of archeology and art ...
  • friends and family, school and uni, ...
  • From born in Karlsruhe, grew up in rhineland-palatinate
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

trying to find out, how and why people do what they do and what they create while doing it

ABOUT ME

I studied archeology and art history, so my main interests are things to look and think about. Beside this I like cooking, I really like "doing pop culture", like listening to music, going to the movies, reading and so on. This sounds really general, but hey, it is really general. I am interested in a lot of different things.
I have a girlfriend, Hanne, I spend a lot of time with her, that is we're living together, which means all requests would have to be approved by her.
My second biggest hobby after pop culture would be cooking and eating I think. We're doing that alot, always trying out new recipies and ingrediences. We're both vegetarians, so we have to create a lot of new recipies, which is the most fun part! (everbody shoud try Hannes Cashew-cheese-saues!)

PHILOSOPHY

I used to be kind of a buddhist when I was about 16, I still want to apply to these principles, but it's difficult. So, in the end I just try to get most out of life.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Surfing, Hosting, the occasional gathering etc.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Surfed:
Elisah, Firenze, 11/08
Krum, Karlsruhe, 03/10

Hosted:
Ashley, USA
Jan, Essen, Germany
Adrien, France
Julian, Bonn, Germany
Joachim, Gent
Richard, Edinburg
Leon, Augsburg
Maria, Insbruck

Interests

Mostly Art, especially ancient greek art, the art of the renaissance, early modernism like fauvism, cubism and german art like neue sachlichkeit or the italian futurism movement. Beside painting and sculpture mainly architecture. Yeah, contemporary architecture. History, mainly ancient history.

Music, Movies & Books

when I'm at home the Magnetic Fields, the Shins, Okervil River, when I'm out at night Minimal Techno like Sven Väth, Extrawelt or stuff from Ed Banger or Kitsuné like Justice or Digitalism ... Books I read and enjoyed were: almost everything from Ernest Hemingway, Georg Büchner; in the last time I'm into 1910s and 1920s literature, like the mentioned Hemingsway, but also James Joyce, F. Scott Fitzgerald, literature from the Vienna Neue Sachlichkeit (like Perutz or Joseph Roth) or from Berlin (Christopher Isherwood) and manymanymore

One Amazing Thing I've Done

"uuuh, and once I saw a Zeppelin!"

Teach, Learn, Share

people say I'm quite good in explaning ancient ruins, so you don't just see a couple of rocks ;-)

Countries I've Visited

Czech Republic, France, Italy, Morocco, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Germany, Greece

Join Couchsurfing to see Tobias's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile