Tom Webster's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tom’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 5 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Portuguese
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • TEFL teacher
  • University degree
  • From Wales, United Kingdom
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a TEFL teacher, and am currently teaching in Colombia. I've been in Latin America for 18 months now, and plan on being here for 5 years. I've been a teacher for 3 and a half years; the first 4 countries being Indonesia, Taiwan, Mexico, and Peru. I'm enjoying Latin America a lot and have been volunteer teaching in Colombia for 1 month now.

Soy un maestro del Inglés y estoy enseñando en Colombia ahora. Llevo un año y medio en América Latina y me gustaría vivir aquí por 5 años en total. Llevo más que 3 años enseñando el inglés, y hasta hubiese vivido en 4 países afuera de mío; Indonesia, Taiwán, México, Perú, y ahora estoy viviendo en Colombia. Soy un voluntario en una escuela del inglés en Popayán y llevo dos meses viviendo aquí!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love to travel, and enjoy meeting new people. A friend told me about this site, and I thought I'd give it a go. I live with a host family in Colombia, and am therefore unfortunately unable to host. However, I'm a reasonable person to have as a house guest. I am very easy to live with, and happily comply with any rules set out.

Interests

  • history
  • español
  • teaching english
  • portugués
  • strongman

Music, Movies, and Books

I love most music, but nu metal and heavy metal are my favourite genres. My favourite bands include Killswitch Engage, Steel Panther, and Linkin Park.

Movies and TV are my connection to home, and I love to watch classic British comedy shows like Porridge, Fawlty Towers, and Only Fools and Horses. Movie-wise, I enjoy a good action movie, and classics like Mrs Doubtfire and Forrest Gump.

Books are a passion of mine, and I struggle to read on a Kindle. It's the most difficult part of traveling; the lack of paper copies of books... I love anything by Clive Cussler and Roald Dahl. I have recently started to enjoy older literature like Frankenstein and Dracula, and have recently finished 1984 by Orwell for the first time.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I went trekking in the Sumatran rainforest for 3 days, and it was astonishing. It was my first time trekking properly, and I've never forgotten the feeling of seeing orangutans in the wild for the first time. I was pretty emotional whilst looking at them, and I would repeat the experience tomorrow if I were given the chance!

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm an English teacher, which is pretty useful! I speak reasonable Spanish and have just started learning Portuguese.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I have an outgoing personality, and am able to occupy myself very easily.

I can give my hosts insight into the different countries I've lived in; various countries in Asia and Latin America.

I can also help them to improve their English, and would gladly set an hour or two aside to help them with grammar, speaking practice, etc, as they desire.

Countries I’ve Visited

Ecuador, Guatemala, Ireland, Malaysia, Netherlands, Philippines, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Colombia, England, Indonesia, Mexico, Peru, Taiwan, Wales

Join Couchsurfing to see Tom’s full profile. It’s free!