Tom Windisch's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tom’s full profile.

Overview

  • 120 references 103 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Turkish
  • 58, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Primary school teacher
  • University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am travelling since I was 15. It is my determination obviously. Starting with cycle trips inside Germany. Then hitchhike criss cross Europe. First Interrail trip to Morocco in 1986. With an old Volkswagen to Turkey in 1988.
My longest journey was a bicycle-trip from Bavaria, Germany to Capetown, South-Africa between 1997 and 2001.
From December 2015 to November 2016 I went on a road trip to India with my 30 year old Nissan Patrol 4x4.
In September 2017 I started another road trip with the same car to Iran, Pakistan, India and Nepal, returned in July 2018.
Travelled and explored more than 80 countries on four continents by foot, bicycle, train, bus, horse, camel, canoe, boat, ship, donkeycart, motorcyle, car, Offroadvehicle or microlight. Some countries I visited several or even many times. I live in my own house in the outskirts of Saarbrücken. My money I am earning as primary school teacher.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have travelled many countries and found:

By far the most people on this planet are very nice people.
I have been invited so many times that I simply want to give it back.
There is no reason to be frightened - have faith, make a plan and keep your bum hard.
Nothing is ever as it seems to be.
Do good and life will be good to you.
and:
Don't be stupid.

Interests

Do it myself. Don't stop learning. Push my boundaries as far as I can.

  • traveling
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • teaching
  • backgammon
  • photographing
  • beekeeping
  • axes
  • open fire
  • firewood
  • diesel engines
  • chain saws

Music, Movies, and Books

I bought a couple of books once and I even read some of them.
I do listen to music. Sometimes to very loud music.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hitchhiking to Sicily and back with only 10 Dollars in my pocket in 1987.
Working in a home for mentally disabled people in 1991.
Paddling down the Yukon River in Canada in 1994.
Cycling from Germany to South Africa 1997 - 2001.
Climbing Mount Kenya and Mount Kilimanjaro to the very top together with my dad in 1998.
Climbing the Tolbatschik in Kamtchatka during his eruption in 2013.
Riding through Takla Makan Desert in China on camelback in 2015.
Driving from Germany to India in my own car in 2015 - 2016, drive back, take a shower and do it again.
Keeping bees since 2002.
Being a teacher and still having fun with this extraordinary challenge.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, India, Kenya, Namibia, Tanzania

Join Couchsurfing to see Tom’s full profile.