Tom Cowan's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tom’s full profile.

Overview

  • 9 references 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Mental Health Care Worker (PLPC)
  • M.S.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to connect, create, explore, and observe

PHILOSOPHY

I rest on perspectives that are agnostic, rational, relativistic and moderate, though I'm fulled by a sense curiosity, openness to experience, and creative drive.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I first did some hosting long ago when living in Asheville, NC, and a bit more in recently recent years here in New Orleans. I've had good experience as a CS guest on various road trips in the U.S. Im recently coming back to it after a few years of distractions.
I've also slept on many couches, other pieces of furniture, and floors, in a few different parts of the world, though not much through CS yet.

Interests

Interested in social sciences, politics, philosophy, nature, outdoor pursuits, running, travel and the universe.
I play a few musical instruments, such as drum set, Indian tabla, keys and flute. My wide musical taste include a lot of non-western music in addition to classic rock, progressive jazz, and New Orleans music.
I was an English/Journalism major in college, but my professional experience is more in the realm of experiential education, human services, and mental health care / professional counseling.

  • animals
  • arts
  • running
  • politics
  • traveling
  • survival
  • music
  • jazz
  • outdoor activities
  • geopolitics
  • journalism
  • psychology
  • social science

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies such as "This is Spinal Tap," and "One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest." Music ranging from Frank Zappa to Bach to Ravi Shankar.
Books ranging from Herman Hesse to Hunter S. Thomson

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Running the front desk of an inner city methadone clinic at 5am. (No longer my job)

Teach, Learn, Share

I can entertain any type of conversation, but have more to offer within the realm of psychology, nature, geopolitics, and the arts. I can teach approaches to percussion and a variety of musical basics, especially when in exchange for other musical skills. I'm curious to learn about your home, profession(s), and general states of mind. When traveling, I'm also very keen on meeting climbers and people with local outdoor knowledge.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A private room with two beds and a little bit of house space, with kitchen, bathroom, and porch.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Costa Rica, India, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Tom’s full profile.