Tomasz Kedra's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tomasz’s full profile.

Overview

  • 42 references 36 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Finnish, Polish
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Healthcare
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

NATURE First! Mission: visit all national parks in Finland (20/40 visited). Apartment next to the LAKE and BEACH (100 m). For my surfers I have 3 BIKES and double KAYAK :) Great, big SAUNA available: Wed, Fri, Sat. HITCHHIKERS/CYCLISTS-friendly place, for those who do not know when they visit Jyvaskyla exactly. COPY/PASTE REQUESTS ARE FINE FOR ME. Just see: movie from my Surfers: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AF7_Lo6Jd88 or in my photo gallery how I spend time with my surfers in Jyvaskyla and surroundings :D You may be asked to give permission to be in my gallery as well, but no pressure for that. VEGAN/VEGETARIAN friendly place.

Probably, you will have very comfortable conditions to rest and much time for yourself because I will be at least half day away at work (or whole day if I do double shifts). I will give you a key that you can use my home freely when I am out (keys for bikes as well). Double bed 160 cm + sofa 120 cm for you and your friends and lots of floor mats. I have bed linens for around 4 people. I sleep separetly in a room that is not visible in the pictures.

Be ready to feel strong muscle sores OR straightforwardly show me your sick excuse from your doctor or mum :P At least 30 km city tours by bike with surfers during day and night are not exceptions but rather regular practice ;) I really like the most to spend time with surfers showing the best of Jyväskylä and do biking, hiking, rowing, jogging, visiting Lehtisaari island with sauna (free of charge, just during summer) etc.
OK, If you are a type of couch potato or have intensive schedule in Jyvaskyla, smart, interesting or funny discussion is also a good option :)

'You are welcome anytime'. If everything's under control, you're going too slow. If you stay longer, especially during summer, probably you will meet other surfers. Sometimes I accept requests or send invitations to people I would like to meet like hitchhikers, slow travellers, cyclists, rebels etc. Often surfers don't even know when they come to Jyväskylä. As a result SOMETIMES there MAY be even MORE COOL AND GREAT PEOPLE PER SQUARE METRE THAN EXPECTED! ;) It also means that almost all the time there is someone who opens doors for you during summer. I try not to have more than 4 people at the same time, so that everyone sleeps in a bed and feels comfortable. Keep calm and be brave, I choose only the best ones to be my guests ;) Life is like a box of chocolates, anyway.

Helsinki and Turku are quite ok, but Jyvaskyla is truly the best :D. Dear reader and and my potential host from Turku or Helsinki: the last sentence is just a very, very bad joke (for others: no, in fact it is true ;) Welcome to the largest lake district in Europe. This is Finnish Lakeland. You can get here by bus in very affordable way (matkahuolto.fi or onnibus.com). Sometimes trains are also affordable (VR.fi). Hitchhiking works also well.
Jyvaskyla:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AsAWv_6htUo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jGoCHC_rDFc

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

The only sufficient way to have my home quite clean :p

Interests

Cyclist (I go by bike to work all year round around 25 km both ways, despite any hard weather conditions). I am also long-distance runner. Polish guy living in Finland since 2010.

  • books
  • sports
  • mountains
  • travelling

Music, Movies, and Books

Yes, I like :)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Finishing awesome134 km ultramarathon (ultratrail) Nuts Yllas Pallas in Pallas-Yllästunturi National Park within less than 30 h non-stop (without sleeping). There is no sunset during the race in Lapland!

Teach, Learn, Share

I have 3 additional bikes for surfers. Biking to city centre takes around 15-30 minutes ;)

Would like to have a lake trip on e.g. Jyväsjärvi? I have double inflatable kayak (see my pictures), but no vehicle to transport it. Feel free to solve this problem :) It's easy to transport it by any small car or 2 bikes

Running together?
https://visitjyvaskyla.fi/en/see-experience/waterways/rantaraitti-recreational-route-that-circles-lake-jyvasjarvi

What I Can Share with Hosts

Tips about visiting national parks. Stories about living in Finland/Poland, participating in marathons.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Lithuania, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Sweden

Countries I’ve Lived In

Finland, Poland

Join Couchsurfing to see Tomasz’s full profile.

My Groups