Tom Brown's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tom’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning German, Korean
  • 22, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Bartender
  • University of East Anglia
  • From Darlington, England, United Kingdom
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Just finished a five month exchange program in Melbourne and am slowly crawling my way up the east cost looking for fun, interesting, and above all cheap places to stay and meet new people.

ABOUT ME

I grew up in a tiny village in England and moved to Chile when I was 18 with a volunteer program, I lived in Valparaiso teaching English in a local school and moved back to Europe and started a degree in Creative Writing after getting published in by a few newspapers in the UK. I´m eager to find new places and meet new people, traveling is the best thing there is. Especially in parts of the world people don't normally experience.

I love working with kids in an outgoing environment, and really enjoy the teaching I did in the Chilean school. I really wish I had more opportunities to travel to different countries and meet different people. I enjoy putting myself out there whenever I can, talking to new people, finding new hobbies and experiencing new things.

I speak English and fluent Spanish from my year abroad. I've traveled a lot in South America and Europe and am keen to keep on seeing as much as possible. I've spent a lot of time working is hospitality and was trained as a cocktail waiter so getting people really drunk comes fairly naturally to me now.

And yeah I know my name sounds fake, it's a burden I carry daily.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Love meeting new people and practicing my Spanish. I've couch surfed a couple of times in Argentina with a friend's account so unfortunately couldn't get a reference but I loved the experience. Normally I'd accept guests but I'm currently traveling around Australia and am really keen to chat with new and interesting people. I much prefer meeting and talking to local than backpackers as I crave a really legitimate experience of the places I'm traveling in.

Interests

I enjoy learning languages, meeting and talking with new people. I spend most of my free time doing creative writing when I´m not outside with my mates.
Apart from that I love indoor rock climbing, rock music, dancing, learning and practicing languages, reading creative fiction and going for walks.
Above all I love traveling, if I could I´d do it all the time.

  • writing
  • dancing
  • environment
  • clubbing
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • rock music
  • rock climbing
  • paragliding
  • languages
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

Game of Thrones
Anything Stephen King
Pretty much any Netflix original
Lots of science fiction and fantasy.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Either El camino de la muerte in Bolviia, by bicycle. (definitely the most intense thing I did) or climbing Machu Picchu in Peru.

Teach, Learn, Share

I taught English to young Chilean students for a year and have a lot of experience running creative writing workshops as I'm a Creative Writing major back in the UK.

I'm also an experienced cocktail waiter and barman.

What I Can Share with Hosts

More than happy to teach and/or practice Spanish.

Can make most cocktails for you if you've got a shaker.

I know a lot of cool obscure card games.

I'm a creative writing student and have been published so I don't mind sharing tips or chatting about it if that takes your fancy.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Bolivia, Chile, Finland, France, Italy, Peru, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Chile, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Tom’s full profile. It’s free!