Logo orange

Tom Goswell

Exeter, Devon, England

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tom's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 9 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning German
  • 23, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Student
  • 2 years of uni at Exeter (UK) and cu...
  • From East Sussex, UK
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To escape Palmerston North and travel New Zealand!

ABOUT ME

I'm a 21 year old physics student from the UK, currently on my year abroad in New Zealand and loving it! I haven't done much travelling before so I'm really excited to get out there and explore the places and people here.

I like to think I'm open, friendly and honest, I love being outdoors, walking, running, exploring new places and also sport - football, table tennis, cricket, cycling, volleyball... I'll have a go at anything :)

PHILOSOPHY

"... it's not the years in your life that counts. It's the life in your years."

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

recently surfed for the first time, and it really opened my eyes to how much you can get from couchsurfing!

I haven't hosted yet, but really keen to surf more and host (when I have a couch!)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I found out about CouchSurfing through my house mates in the UK hosting people from around the world. I think it's a great idea, and have now surfed a few times in New Zealand and Australia, and gone to some meetings. I love the open minded people that are part of this wonderful community!

Interests

music, cooking and food, sport (especially football), hiking, food and food! I really love good food!

Music, Movies & Books

not a massive fan of movies... I guess the Monty Python films? Classic British comedy! I love music, huge fan of Muse (you HAVE to see them live!), also Radiohead, Kasabian, Arctic Monkeys, Mr Scruff, Queens of the Stone age, Fatboy Slim and many more! More recently I've discovered some great New Zealand music like Fat Freddy's Drop and Ladi6 :) I used to read a lot but just haven't been in to it so much recently, would love to read more though.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I've travelled around New Zealand and a bit of Australia over the 2012/13 summer, and the whole experience was amazing. The stand out things were probably kayaking with seals and sea lions in Abel Tasman for 2 days in beautiful weather.

Amazing in a different way was driving up the steepest street (Baldwin St, Dunedin, NZ) in my 21 year old car (to the cheers and encouragement of other tourists)!!

Teach, Learn, Share

Hmm I suppose I know a bit about physics, I love cooking and I know a few good recipes (would like to learn some more). I've also got a football coaching qualification, and coached 5-6 year olds for a few years (great fun!) so I like to think I know a bit about that.... just need to work on applying it to my own football... ha

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Thailand

Countries I've Lived In

New Zealand, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Tom's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile