Tonia Harder's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tonia’s full profile.

Overview

  • 6 references 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 52, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • From MN, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

So, I'm reading all these profiles on all these other couch surfers and I've come to a couple conclusions, ya'll are way more interesting and cultured than me…doesn't anyone else out there have kids to take care of, or dogs, laundry or grocery shopping or have to work a ton?!! Just kidding, kind of, I guess…LOL!
So you've guessed it, I am married, have 5 kids and work as a nurse. Two of my kids are actually adults now so life is changing and we are starting to have more opportunities to travel again.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

So here's the real truth…you can tell I'm 46 and not 20…LOL!
My oldest daughters went on a recent hippie road trip through GA, SC,NC and FL. They camped out of their hatchback car but needed a place to stay one night because couldn't find an available campground. They decided to couch surf for the first time. They found a family that they stayed with for one night, had a great meal, enjoyed their kids and visiting with them. At first I thought,"You have to be crazy, Dad's going to have a heart attack!" I had never really heard of couch surfing before…too busy working and taking care of kids right?! Then I thought, has to be better than a Walmart parking lot!
So I started to research and look into couch surfing and what it's all about. That's when I thought, Ok, there are some really interesting, cultured, adventurous and cool people( way more cool than me ) on this site! So many people seemed really genuine and interested in getting to know others and sharing a bit of their lives as well as their place. I know my daughters had a great experience with couch surfing. I began to see it as a great opportunity to visit places and experience something different than the typical tourist type experience. Traveling like this adds a human experience you otherwise wouldn't have. We love meeting new people and talking to them about their experiences, travels and life. We hope to have to opportunity to host others as well in SW Florida

Interests

  • coffee
  • vegetarian
  • walking
  • gardening
  • thrifting
  • hiking
  • camping
  • skiing
  • beaches
  • mountains
  • travel
  • friends
  • healthy food
  • family
  • kids
  • meeting new people
  • alternative medicine
  • healthy lifestyle
  • campfires
  • sunsets
  • golfing

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: I like all types of music, old and new, anything other than rap and hard rock. That's just too much noise in my already noisy and busy life.
Movies: I'm alway up for a good comedy, I love to laugh! Also, like drama if I'm in a quiet mood, action/adventure if I'm watching a movie with my husband and a good Disney especially if I'm watching it with the kids! SciFi just isn't my thing!
Books: I think I've read only one fiction in the last decade! When I have time I'm usually reading books on personal development, parenting, health or apologetics.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Ok, having 5 kids, isn't that enough…. I did deliver a baby once, someone else's!
Also, had a great time zip lining through the rain forest in Peurto Rico.

Teach, Learn, Share

Life is a gift. Everyone has a story and that is what has made them who they are today. The things I thought once were so important, I see more now as distractions from the true treasures of life. I believe everyone has something to share, whether a skill, knowledge or insight on an array of topics, life lessons, ideas and experiences.

I enjoy discussing topics on health and wellness, nutrition, conventional and alternative medicine, travel, fitness, gardening, DIY projects, parenting, my story, your story, and my husband would love to discuss anything sports/all sports/except cheerleading…he would argue that is NOT a sport…lol.

Most people who come here want to go to the beaches. There are so many, some better than others. We can give you advice on where to go, where to eat, what other activities there are to do around here. We may be able to offer a private room or maybe just a comfy couch depending on how many visitors or adult kids are home at the time.

What I Can Share with Hosts

If you're pregnant and you go into labor, you'd be in pretty good hands :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Belize, Brazil, Canada, Cayman Islands, Costa Rica, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Saint Martin (French part), Spain, Turks and Caicos Islands

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Tonia’s full profile.