Toni Loffredo's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 19 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Toni’s full profile.

Overview

  • 9 references 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Italian; learning Dutch, German, Malagasy, Spanish
  • 64, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Philanthropist, Scientist, officer, general manager, entr...
  • MSc Engineering, MBA
  • From Corato, Bari, Italy
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am new to couchsurfing (May 14, 2024 the exact date), therefore I have only few references and friends here. However, my best reference, at the moment, are the thousands of pictures on the facebook page of my charity project in Madagascar, where I spend half of my time every year, since 2017 (leaving 2020-2021 in oblivion). You can find it here https://facebook.com/sorrisisenzafrontiere

I travel since ages, and during last years I use to stop a couple of quarters in Madagascar, where I carry out my charity project for the very poor children of public elementary schools (EPP). Up to now, I carried out my project in 130 schools, in 11 main cities of Madagascar and thousands of pictures of inauguration parties can be seen here https://facebook.com/sorrisisenzafrontiere , Sorrisi Senza Frontiere, i.e. Smiles Without Borders
My facebook is https://facebook.com/toni.expo.loff , visual CV https://my.visualcv.com/antonioloffredo and Linkedin https://it.linkedin.com/in/antonioloffredo
Previously, I was a scientist in fiber and integrated optics, and general manager in intellectual property, automotive and energy, working in Italy, France, Germany, Holland and Britain.
I have 3 children, 2 boys and 1 girl, all masters in engineering, like me, and with dream jobs
I speak fluent Italian, French, English and have a fair knowledge of German, Spanish and a little Malagasy
Health is very important to me. So I'm 6-time Covid vaccinated and had a total of 35 vaccinations in my life

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

In short, to meet interesting people
During the last 6 months, I spent 3 months in Madagascar, and I also visited Morocco, Spain, Egypt, Cyprus, Jordan, India, Thailand and the Philippines, and now I am on a coast-to-coast-to-coast in the USA
I travel to know people, not to see things. I like to chat, get opinions and express my vision on how to understand reality and what is necessary to do for making reality better for everybody, especially the very poor

Interests

I like to study everything, ranging from science to finance, from finance to philosophy, from arts to psychology and medicine
In particular, philosophy is for me the art of solving problems, especially social problems, like poverty, diseases, war, environment, fraternity, equality and freedom
That's why my charity project is named Sorrisi Senza Frontiere, i.e. Smiles Without Borders

  • cooking
  • traveling
  • music
  • sports
  • travel
  • travelling
  • meeting people
  • knowledge
  • sharing
  • meeting new people
  • meet people
  • sharing stories
  • meeting friends
  • meet new people
  • charity
  • chatting
  • know people
  • share experiences
  • sharing experiences
  • know new places

Music, Movies, and Books

I love to listen to jazz, latin, classical and country music
I'm fond of movies and watch a movie every single evening, all kinds of movies
From time to time, I also read once more the classics of literature

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Well, there are many anecdotes that I remember with great pleasure, especially of my experiences in Madagascar. Here is just one.
Once, during one of my 15 trips to Madagascar, in the city of Toliara, I bought some fish at a local market, and was looking for a place where to grill it. All public places were closed, cause of Sunday, and I found a house with two ladies lighting a fire on the sidewalk, to cook. I asked them if they could grill my fish and they kindly offered to do it and welcomed me at their table. After 10 minutes, there were about 20 people around me, including small children, grand parents, uncles and auntes. I started chatting with everybody and the event turned into a party. I asked the girls to go buying food and drinks for everybody. I shared my fish with the children and after eating they sang and danced and the party turned into theatre. I have experienced this many times in Madagascar and other poor countries, my best social experiences, where I can bring a little joy and happiness, at least for a few hours

But I also took Pavarotti with my car to the San Carlo theatre for his Prima, many years ago

And I drove in some racetracks, like Imola, Monza and others

Teach, Learn, Share

This is my life. Teaching, learning and sharing. The more I teach, the more I learn and the more I can share
What do I teach during the parties in third world schools? Playing and studying with discipline, enthusiasm and laugh

What I Can Share with Hosts

Apart from a good chat, sharing my charity experience, travel stories, knowledge, languages, laughing, I can also cook, especially Italian food and mostly, healthy food

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Canada, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Ethiopia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Ireland, Israel, Jordan, Kenya, Kuwait, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritius, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Seychelles, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Germany, Italy, Madagascar, Netherlands, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Toni’s full profile.

My Groups