Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 3 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tori’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 44 References 25 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Master's Student @McGill
  • BA Social Anthropology and IDS - Dalhousie University Mas...
  • From Half Moon Bay, CA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I love to meet new people, I am independent, creative, hard working and open. I enjoy coffee, , exploring the great outdoors (and indoors) and people watching. I like to be warm, and laugh, and cook, and swap clothes, and tell stories, and take photos. I'm a PADI divemaster. I am working on a master's in urban planning.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I started surfing in South America and have surfed and gone to events, meet ups, etc in Argentina, USA, Canada, Philippines, Malaysia, Vietnam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Korea, China, and more.

It is important for me to see and live the lived experience of the people in countries where I visit. I feel that this adds more flavor, sound, sights, experiences and faces to your travels.


Surfed in Cordoba, Argentina had an amazing time!! I couldn't have asked for better hosts, and even though it was years ago we still keep in touch and I know we will meet up again in the future. Went to meet up's and hosted in Daegu, Busan and Seoul South Korea. Surfed and celebrated Chinese New Year in Beijing China. Surfer and did island hopping with CS in Cebu, Philippines. Organized a meet up with other surfers in Nha Trang, Vietnam. Surfed and did meet ups in Siem Reap, Cambodia.


Travel. Music. . Anthropology. Community design. Development. People. Coffee. Yoga. Diving. People watching. Eating new foods. Cooking. The ocean. Hiking.

  • design
  • chinese new year
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • yoga
  • partying
  • clothing
  • traveling
  • eating out
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • anthropology

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: GirlTalk, Regina Spektor, Eek-a-Mouse, Toots & Maytals, JUSTICE, Peaches, Feist, Broken Social Scene, Hole, Wassabi Collective, Antibalas Afro.Beat Orchestra, Led Zeppelin, M.I.A., The Doors, Janis Joplin, Corrine Bailey Rae, Amy Winehouse, Morcheeba, Miles Davis, The Rolling Stones, Massive Attack, James Brown, Erykah Badu, Jill Scott, Marvin Gaye, Phish, Neil Young, Sound Tribe Sector 9, Angie Stone, Maxwell, D'Angelo, CiFeist, Celia Cruz, Antibalas Afro-Beat Orchestra, Erykah Badu, Rufus and Chakah Kahn, George Clinton and P-Funk, Funkadelic, Betty Wright, Eric Clapton, John Lee Hooker, Led Zeppelin, Cream, The Doors, The Beatles, Queens of the Stone-Age,Missy Elliot, Goapele, Stevie Wonder, Radiohead, Thom Yorke, Bjork, Atmosphere, Sage Francis, Non-Prophets, Living Legends,Xaiver Rudd, Ben Harper, Grupo Nectar,

Books: Heart of Darkness, Vida: Live in a Zone of Social Abandonment, The Unbearable Lightness of Being, Geek Love, The Moomins, The Alchemist, Alice Through the Looking Glass, The Vagina Monologues, The Good Body, Memas House: Mexico City, The Nuer

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Danced in Rio de Janiero Sambadrome! Rode on motorbikes throught the farvelas, went to funk parties and loved Rio! Taught little ones the alpahbet, had those same kids practice a song and dance for me that they did all on their own! Worked with womens with disabilities rights and work generation NGO's in Peru and helped get grants for a guinnea pig farm. Rode moutain bikes from El Cumbre La Paz to Corioco BOLIVIA!Bribed my way into Bolivian prison. Survived Y2K. And swine flu. And hopefully 2012? Swam with whale sharks in Thailand and Honduras. Watched blue whales breaching from the yard at my elementary school, every year! Dove in an extinct mega volcano, a cavern and blue hole. I share a birthday with Jaques Cousteau.

Teach, Learn, Share

Laughter and smiles.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, China, Dominican Republic, Germany, Guatemala, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Mexico, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Peru, Philippines, Singapore, Spain, Sri Lanka, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Nepal, Peru, South Korea, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    5 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Tori’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups