Victoria Satchwell's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Victoria’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 22 References 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Afrikaans, English; learning Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • student
  • doing it
  • From Cape Town
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Please do not contact me if you use CS as a dating site, if you think that surfing is a free hostel or if your profile is thin. If you are one of these people and you do message me I will use my reply as a moment to practice making witty insults.


studying and working


Hello over there.
I am someone who tries to be kind, thinks a lot, is a little bit reckless and wants to achieve much. One starts with work. I tutor Philosophy, waitress at a really great burger place in the city of Cape Town, write my thesis in Philosophy and am an assistant on a Public Health course. Surprisingly (to some) my favourite job is the waitressing. I like it because for that time I am in control of my small but intense universe. Also because I get limited but pretty intimate access to people behind the protection of being employed to be there - if the theatre and reality is fun then I engage, if someone is a dick then I go an be busy elsewhere. Don't get me wrong, I also like being with people under a more equal dynamic. And then travel. I like to travel for the anonymity, the adventure, the sense of possibility it comes with and most importantly the new feelings and ideas. And character. I am pretty lively and fun with darkish but sometimes silly sense of humour. I am happy to make a fool of myself. I like to dance - focussing attention on the physical and finding flow. I am currently experiencing a bout of nihilism (this happens periodically) but usually I think social relationships are what makes a life worth living - this means that the most important thing is to be good to those around you. I am curious and feel most alive when discovering or understanding something new.


I aspire to flow - this is a state where you manage to stop thinking and intuitively find your next footing, the elimination of self doubt and the experience of what is actually happening. Romantic relationships cannot be even slightly engineered - it is all winging it while trying to be the best communicator you can be. Knowing what you want to do with your life is not that important. Fear is usually what fucks you over. I think there is an incredible amount of beauty to be found in our day to day lives we just need to figure out how to see. Goodness is easily attainable if you really desire to be good. If you wanna do something throw yourself at it and hope you stick. Health is yours for the taking - eat well and do some fucking yoga.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


surf and host, attend events - the usual


I have hosted a few poeple in Stellenbosch, Buenos Aires and Cape Town. I attended a lot of meetings in Buenos Aires and hosted just one - it was an English language book swop where I made 2 really great friends. Went to a couch surfers christmas in London which was awesome. I have surfed a bit, in BA, Plett and Pretoria in South Africa, Berlin and Slovenia, Poland, Hungary, Norway.

I have recently become worried about CS. I worry about censorship of active community members and the lack of meaningful security measures. I worry that some poeple use CS to sell stuff and some people use it to recruit sexual partners - both willing and unwilling. I have a profile on BeWelcome.

Very funny but also disturbing youtube about the commercialization and downfall of CS


walking. gardening. films. cooking. reading. travel. antiques. solutions to social problems. moving back to old ways of manufacturing stuff and towards self sustainability because I like that stuff and think it explains the culture of those times and where we come from not because I think we necessarily need to. making things with my cousin. talking to people (this is my favourite thing to do). dogs and cats. drinking coffee. tracking down quiet beautiful places. vegetable markets.

  • cats
  • dogs
  • culture
  • writing
  • books
  • beauty
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • yoga
  • walking
  • drinking
  • gardening
  • shopping
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • knitting
  • surfing
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

music: grimes, aphex twin, mogwai, radiohead, xx, bon iver, beirut, felix la band (he's south african - check him out), philip glass, bach, max richter, tori amos

books: cannery row, enduring love, the corrections, even cowgirls get the blues, shades (really incredible South African story)

movies/series: period dramas, paper boy, tomboy, blue is the warmest colour, six feet under, the wire

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Mostly not relatable in words - they are feelings, they are.
The feeling of the cafes in Argentina, just sitting and watching, but you are not simply an observer, there are so many like you, all sitting and watching and absorbing that you form part of the picture. And the waiters are old, rude men in bowties who have worked there for ever.

Studying Philosophy. Understanding things differently. Writing collaboratively.

Making friends with people in the street/park/restaurant who you never see again but often remember. That happened in Berlin - I met a Korean-American girl in a coffee shop and we spent about 5 hours together and then never again.

Teach, Learn, Share

Would like to speak Spanish more often before it fades into the ether. I like cooking with other poeple and learning/teaching different dishes. Am also interested in learning to knit. I can teach you how to dance - but I do interpretive dancing so you have to be a little bit brave.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Chile, Ecuador, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Nepal, Peru, Poland, Slovenia, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina, Norway, South Africa, Sweden, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Victoria’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups