Denis Raymond's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Denis’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 13 References 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Educator/Mentor
  • University of Ottawa
  • From Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Learning to Live

ABOUT ME

Similar to lots of couchsurfers, I am open-minded and extroverted. I like to think of myself as personable, and sensitive to other people and their needs. I love helping people in any way I can -- I do as much volunteering and traveling as I physically can!

I am a naturally curious person, with a passion for discovering new things. I am a strong believer in the old saying "the moment you stop learning is the moment you die".

I love to dabble on any musical instrument I can get my hands on. I've been playing piano since an early age, and love to jam with people of different styles. I have a keyboard, a guitar, a djembe, and hands fo' clappin'!

I'm an outdoor adventure enthusiast. For this reason, I am in love with Canada! I often center my trips around hikes or camping. I've had a WWOOFing experience in Costa Rica and loved every minute of it, so much so that I would love to get out and work more with me hands (which I don't do enough of).

I am Franco-Ontarian!

PHILOSOPHY

There is beauty in everything.

Accept.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Social events for now. I'm also available to show you around town during the week, though I don't have a vehicle to do that (we'd be on foot, on bike, or on bus). Hoping to start hosting soon!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I first heard about CouchSurfing on my first cross-Canada trip I did many years ago, and I've never looked back.

Interests

People and their life experiences! I love music, languages, mathematics, philosophy, the outdoors, martial arts, festivals, learning ... I like to keep my learning motor running by exploring any new interests that might come up.

  • arts
  • beauty
  • festivals
  • cooking
  • running
  • traveling
  • music
  • guitar
  • piano
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • martial arts
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • volunteering
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Big Kevin Smith and Darren Aranofsky fan. Some other movies I enjoy; Pan's Labyrinth, Fight Club, Tropic Thunder, American History X, The Devil's Rejects, Seven, Blow, OldBoy, Ip Man, Hero, House of Flying Daggers, Mongol... The list goes on!

TV: Netflix, Netflix, and more Netflix! I'm not a TV addict, but when I get into a show, I tend to binge.

Books: I've been discovering classic sci-fi novels lately (Ender's Game, Neuromancer, Farenheit 451, Brave New World, to name a few).

Music: Too varied to list. I'm very open-minded when it comes to music, having played with jazz, classical and metal groups in the past. To name a few artists and musicians that I admire; Thelonious Monk, Art Tatum, Rachmaninov, Dvorak, Philip Glass, The Cinematic Orchestra, Nubuo Eumatsu, Aphex Twin, Rick Wakeman, Jordan Rudess, Dispatch, Beirut, Trampled by Turtles, Atmosphere, Aesop Rock, Ane Brun, Les Cowboys Fringants, Québec Redneck Bluegrass Project, Lisa Leblanc, ... The list goes on!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Life in itself is amazing. A few experiences I particularly enjoyed include;
-volunteered 8+ months in remote aboriginal communities of the Northwest Territories of Canada
-lived 6+ months at 6400 feet in Southern California's spectacular mountains
-hitchhiked across Canada
-hiked the West Coast Trail on Vancouver Island in Canada, and many mountains in the Vancouver/Whistler area
-Many miles with many beautiful people

Teach, Learn, Share

music, martial arts (jiu-jitsu, grappling, kickboxing), language (fluent in French and English), mathematics, and life.

Learn... Anything and everything!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I love to cook!!

Countries I’ve Visited

Cambodia, Canada, Costa Rica, Egypt, Greece, India, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Panama, Singapore, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    4 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Denis’s full profile. It’s free!