Logo orange

TravelBeans

Ungassan, Bali, Indonesia

Maybe Accepting Guests

0% response rate · Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see TravelBeans's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 28 Positive References
  • Fluent in Bengali, Bangla, English, Hindi; learning Indonesian, Spanish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Digital Media Strategist / Travel Wr...
  • Masters Degree etc etc etc
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

I write, I travel, I dance. I run a Digital Media Strategy company called Social Ally and also work as a Travel Writer. You can find a lot of my work here: http://living-n-escaping.blogspot.com/. I love travelling to offbeat, remote places and meeting locals and ex-pats forms a big part of my travel experience.

I laugh easily and I laugh a lot. I enjoy good food and much to the annoyance of some, I add chillies to pretty much everything. The Feminist movement has been a big influence in my life and I identify as a Feminist. Depending on how you view the world, we might get along very well or not at all ;).

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

I'm on CS to meet the right kind of people when I travel or when I'm living somewhere as an ex-pat. I believe that "People make a place” and that meeting the right sort of people especially while travelling can add so much more to any experience.

Interests

I love Dance. I can dance for hours and hours without stopping. My favourite styles are Raqs Sharqi, Jazz and Bollywood. I don't mind a bit of Hip-hop every now and then either. As a broke student living in London, teaching dance helped me make a bit of money on the side. So it's safe to say I owe some of my travels to dance.

I enjoy hiking and try to get a big hike in on all my trips. Yoga and me get along pretty well too and I practice every day at home.

Other than that, I enjoy listening to music, I play a bit of Ukulele and I couldn't live without books. I tried to do the whole e-book thing for a while but I always come back to good old fashioned paperbacks.

Music, Movies & Books

When it comes to listening to music, Indie Bands always top my list. I enjoy listening to radio stations like KEXP and Triple J to find out who the new bands doing the rounds are. I like Alt-J, Sylvan and Esso, Local Natives ...you get the drift.

As far as Dance Music goes, my tastes are a lot more commercial (and proudly at that) and I also veer towards Hip-Hop, Dubstep, Trap and the like. Give me a good solid beat and I'm a happy girl.

I try to keep my tastes global when it comes to movies so if you have a favourite movie from your country, I'd love it if you could share it with me. Some of the favourite ones that come to mind are: A Separation, Howl's Moving Castle, Grand Budapest Hotel, Shawshank Redemption, Delhi Belly and Boyhood.

There is no limit to the number of books that I love and to name a few would just be cruel!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Scaling an active volcano in Lombok,Indonesia; Seeing breaching humpback whales in Albany, Australia; Sleeping under a million shooting stars in Koh Phi Phi, Thailand; Diving with Manta Rays in the Similan Islands, Thailand; Watching the most beautiful sunsets in Perth, Australia; Cross Country Skiing in Sridal, Norway; Being the only two people on an uninhabited island in Jaco, Timor-Leste; Spotting crocs in the wild in Arugam, Sri Lanka; Going to the Opera for the first time in Vienna, Austria; Hiking solo, camping by the ocean and swimming in phosphorescent waters in Hong Kong; Watching the sun come up from behind the ancient temples of Angkor Wat, Cambodia; Being surrounded by a gazillion dolphins in the Bay of Gibraltar; Road Tripping through Lake District, England; Attending Music Festivals, Theatre Shows and Concerts all through the U.K; Making it to the Hay On Wye Festival in Wales; Falling in love with Berlin through its arts and kebabs; Making it all the way to Bali and living there; Biking from Belgium to Netherlands solo; Getting lost in the timelessness of Shakespeare and Company, Paris, France.....oh wait...sorry, did you say one? Oops! ;)

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you some serious dance moves, how to cook a mean curry and even how to advance your yoga practice at home...if you're into that sort of thing that is.

I'd love to learn some Spanish / Bahasa Indonesia and how to cook comfort food from around the world. If you've got a great recipe, send it across! I could talk and listen to conversation about food for hours.

What I Can Share With Hosts

I can share quality conversation, good food and lots of laughter. What else do we need right?

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Gibraltar, India, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Pakistan, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Timor-Leste (East Timor), Turkey, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, India, Indonesia, Poland, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see TravelBeans's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile