Logo orange

Dawid G

Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Accepting Guests

14% response rate · Last login about 12 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dawid's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 86 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in English, Polish; learning Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Turkish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • IT expert/freelancer/Legal Hacker :)
  • Learning something new all the time :)
  • From Poznan, Poland
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Enjoy life in Rio de Janeiro to the fullest. Discover the city and meet great people :)

ABOUT ME

I'm a friendly guy curious about the world. I like to experience new things all the time and I enjoy meeting new people, discovering other cultures and countries.
I've got crazy ideas sometimes and I can be pretty spontaneous hehe :) I also like having random adventures :) Even as simple as falling asleep and missing 2 stops on the last train to somewhere :P (especially with a good company, that's what I call fun :)

I come from Poland but early on I moved to the UK to work abroad and then got bored after a while and thought why stop there and got this funny idea to live in a bunch of different countries for a period of time :)
Traveling somewhere for a week and living somewhere is two different things.
Throughout my journey I've lived in 9 countries (including Poland) , learnt a few languages, made many friends, and learnt lots of things.

Recently I've moved to Brazil. To Rio de janeiro making it the 10th country I live in :) It's one of the best places I've seen!
I live between two best beaches in the city between Ipanema and Copacabana.
The city is absolutely great. It's also very interesting as it's got the mountains, the beaches, parks and even a tropical forest. All in one city! :)
It takes 8min to get to a place by the sea called Arpoador. It's my favourite place so far. There are a set of rocks that many people climb before the sunset drinking beer, caipirinha, mate, or coconut water through a straw from a fresh coconut :) They just sit there and chill, and then they all clap their hands when the sun sets. And it sets directly into the sea. Awesome view and place :)

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-Hd5Kp0QYFxY/UTEXL-jk6UI/AAAAAAAACI0/eaJXbUHBhTY/s640/pedra+do+equador.jpg
http://reveillonriodejaneiro.com.br/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/Arpoador.jpg

I want to get the best of my life here.
If anyone is up for some of the adventures here feel free to join me on some hiking, scuba diving, or other trips :)

PHILOSOPHY

You only live once so make the most of it :) I try to experience as much as possible."The things you own end up owning you""Either you think you can or you can't, either way you're right.""Don't ever let anybody tell you, you can't do something... You have a dream, you've got to protect it. People can't do something themselves they're gonna tell you, you can't do it. You want something? Go get it, period.""Life is not the amount of Breaths you Take. It's the Moments that Take your Breath Away.""If you're not failing you're not even trying""To get something you never had you need to do something you never did"To always go for my dreams. No regrets ;D

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I participate in the CS meetings and events, hosting people whenever I can, meeting CS people (sometimes accidentally ;D) for drinks and for showing around; surfing when I travel :)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Amazing.I have surfed and hosted. Lots of good fun and lots of great people :) I've learnt a lot this way.

Interests

playing hang drum/handpan, photography, scuba diving, martial arts (muay thai), learning languages, traveling, discovering cultures and different life styles, hiking in the mountains, music, dance, going out, movies, computer security, meeting people, drinking yerba mate, computers and legal hacking, self-improvement, gym, running, reading...

Music, Movies & Books

Shawshank redemption, Into the wild, Amelie, American Beauty, Garden state, Blue velvet, Dead poets society, The science of sleep, Trainspotting, One flew over the cuckoo's nest, Borat, Lost in translation, Truman show, What's eating Gilbert Grape, Stand by me, Time of gypsies, BARAKA (!), Pursuit of happyness, The Motorcyle Diaries, Graduate, The Darjeeling Limited

Music: ambient, psyambient, goa, rock and others depending on the mood :0 A few favourites: shpongle, aes dana, solar fields.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I've decided to live in many different countries for a while and I quit my full-time and stable IT job to go for the dream :) I've lived in 10 countries since then.

I climbed a mountain called Ciemniak (>2000m) in Poland in pretty bad weather conditions (now I know that the skilled mountaineers were turning back for a reason :p). Then got lost at the top of the mountain in a fog/blizzard with 2 friends :) That was an adventure :)

Watching stars in Erg Chebbi desert (Morocco), alone at night lying in the dunes... So peaceful. Amazing feeling.

Getting lost in the desert alone at night. That was not so peaceful but pretty cool too in the end :D

Teach, Learn, Share

I can help anybody with some languages. Can help you out if your computer breaks ;) Give you some tips on using SLR cameras. Or motivate you to live your job and travel hehe ;D

I want to learn more languages :) I'm open to learning many new things so just tell me about your passion :)

What I Can Share With Hosts

Traveling experiences, motivational stuff, teach to play hang drum/handpan, cook something from Poland or India, photography

Countries I've Visited

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Croatia, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, India, Iran, Israel, Japan, Kenya, Latvia, Libya, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Portugal, Serbia, Slovakia, South Korea, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Brazil, Estonia, India, Japan, Poland, Portugal, South Korea, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Dawid's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile