Logo orange

Tina Valerius

Mannheim, Baden-Wuerttemberg, Germany

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 10 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tina's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 10 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Spanish
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • No occupation listed
  • studied international business admin
  • From Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Traveling Central-/South America and trying to learn as much Spanish as possible

ABOUT ME

I grew up in a small village in Western Germany. My parents love camping and took my brother and me to different places within Europe when I was a child. I think that's why I love traveling a lot. When I was in Singapore for several months during my studies, I started traveling on my own and experienced how rewarding the exchange with new people and cultures can be for both sides. I 'fell in love with Asia' and came back several times afterwards. In my 'everyday life' in Germany I have a Marketing job in the office. But I felt it was time to have a break because there is so much more to discover in this world! So I made a dream come true and am currently taking some months off to explore Central-/South America. I think language is the key to get in touch and more into the local culture, thus I wanna try to learn as much Spanish as possible during this time. I am excited about my little 'adventure' and hope to meet many couchsurfers along the way! ¡Hasta luego! Hope to see you soon! :-)

PHILOSOPHY

Getting out of your comfort zone is where the magic happens.

"It's the possibility of having a dream come true that makes life interesting." Paulo Coelho

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

offer my couch in Germany when at home, surf while traveling, attend CS meetings and events whenever possible

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have just joined Couchsurfing last year. Since then, I participated in several CS meetings and events in Europe, e.g. in Paris, Hamburg, Milano..; had a great first couch surfing experience in Hamburg during CS Invasion in summer 2012; waiting for my first couch guest in Mannheim :)

Interests

I love to travel, explore new adventures and meet new people from different corners of the world, am keen on learning new languages, like concerts & festivals, jogging, scuba diving, photography. Couchsurfing helps a lot to pursue these interests and opens up my mind for even more great things that life has to offer.

Music, Movies & Books

I like all different kinds of music, however still need some beers to get adapted to house or techno... ;-) I'm enjoying most: indie, alternative, singer-songwriter, pop-rock, and from time to time also jazz & soul, just depending on my mood.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Will not forget riding on the back of an old moped through the busy streets of Hanoi and joining the traditional wedding of my guide's friend outside the city. One of the most amazing experiences I've ever had!

Backpacking through mainland China, so many great impressions (all saved in our memories as our camera got stolen at the very end of the trip :(

Glad that a new friend in Singapore encouraged me to join her in a scuba diving course. Love the peace and colors down in the ocean. Never would have tried and experienced without her.

Most shocking, upsetting experiences: seeing child beggars in China deliberately mutilated by organized gangs to earn money; poverty and dirt along the streets in Mumbai

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm interested to improve my Spanish... and my cooking skills as well (some room for improvement here ;-))! Keen to learn some kitesurfing. I am always up for sharing my travel experiences. And I could teach some English if you like. I think there is always something to share and learn if you meet new people.

Countries I've Visited

Australia, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, India, Malaysia, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Spain, Thailand, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Germany, Singapore

Join Couchsurfing to see Tina's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile