Leena Lehtonen's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Leena’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 27 References 21 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Outdoor Adventure Guide (ex-Navy Medic)
  • Books..... what would the world be like without them?
  • From Australia: I've lived a Nomadic lifestyle, my entire life.
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To surf the Amazon River, swim with whale sharks, eat a cat in Peru, Sandboard in Nambia, Camel across the Great Sandy Desert, ride Bolivias death road, and meet some interesting people along the way....

ABOUT ME

I'm a little eccentric. I don't hide this fact - but you'll still love me.
I work as an Outdoor Adventure Guide - its fun, and I get to travel. Before that, I was a Medic in the Navy for 7 years.
I never want to be someone who looks back and feels regret on a life half-lived, so I'm always out there, pushing my boundaries and trying new things.

PHILOSOPHY

Dream it - Plan it - Do it.
I believe in living the life you want to live, purposefully. When you push your fears aside, that's when you realise there no limit to the possibilities of life.

I believe in striving to live a virtuous life. I'm definitely not perfect, but my word is very important to me, and I have a high opinion of those who 'do as they say, and say as they do'.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I love couchsurfing. I joined to meet like minded souls, and have a "real" cultural experience - and so far it has exceeded my expectations by far. There's something amazing about couchsurfing you can't get anywhere else.

Some hosts have become part of my favourite travel memories, and I've definitely made some life-long friends through couchsurfing.

I'm NOT on here to meet guys. Please deny my request if you want more than friendship. I just want to be clear, to avoid confusion, and awkward situations.

When I'm back home in Australia, I'd be happy to host a camping and hiking trip for anyone crazy enough to take me up on it!
Maybe we'll go on a week long kayaking trip? Or visit the Outback and search for Opals? (I actually did this recently with a couchsurfer for 3 weeks - awesome fun!)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've only had good experiences on couchsurfing, and I've met some amazing people, whom I wouldn't have met otherwise. Some of these people have become my friends, and I've had the pleasure of staying them, again and again, as the years go by.

I consider myself a good guest: I'm undeniably honest, tidy, and respectful of your space, and I'm incredibly easy-going. I'm good with pets and kids, and I'll sleep anywhere (I even come with my own sleeping mat and sleeping bag).

I come with no expectations except a safe and dry pace to sleep. I've woken up with cats sitting on my face - not a problem. As long as your happy to see me when I arrive, then I think that's about all I really need!

Interests

Travel (of course). I do like roughing it, but a nice soft bed (and hot shower) is always welcome!
I love experiencing new cultures, and learning new things. There's not much I wouldn't do, just to experience something new. I can't dance, and once a host took me Salsa dancing.... So I'm pretty much up for anything.
I love hiking, camping, nature and all things attached (fishing, star-gazing, camp fires, etc). I also love museums, art, music, things that shock-and-awe, and the unexpected.
I think something would be amiss if I didn't add my love of food (anything, as long as its not spicy). I love trying new tastes, and finding new favourites. I can honestly say I'll eat pretty much anything, and I'm usually just grateful to share a meal with someone.

I'm not big on drinking, unless of course - the occasion calls for it (like a couchsurfing BBQ or a glass of wine with the neighbours).

  • animals
  • pets
  • cats
  • arts
  • dancing
  • salsa dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • bbq
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • painting
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • camping
  • swimming
  • astronomy
  • tourism

Music, Movies, and Books

All travel books.
Philosophy (The Prophet, The Alchemist, etc).
Music: 90s Alternative Rock, Modern Pop & Rock
Documentaries - LOVE them.
Si-Fi movies (I am so Geek), action, comedy... anything really!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've done a lot of crazy stuff....
But if I had to choose just one, I'd say: trekking through the Australian bush for two months - alone. I did 1000kms through rain, hail and blistering sun, and loved every minute! I want to Camel trek across the Australian Desert one day - and I'd be happy to take the right person along for the ride. (Any takers?)

Teach, Learn, Share

I love trekking through the bush, and I have some pretty good bush skills as well (bush-tucker, flint fire starting, animal traps, etc). I'm pretty good with my astronomy too.
I've been learning Didgeridoo, and I'm really enjoying it, but I'm still struggling with circular-breathing. It's such an awesome instrument!
I'd love to learn Spanish, French and Finnish. Maybe Arabic as well.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I CAN'T cook! But I can chop vegetables, clean dishes, and even do minor "handy man" tasks. I'm pretty good with a screw driver or a paint brush.

I offer great company :) and I love participating my hosts activities.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belize, Cambodia, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Malaysia, Mexico, Nicaragua, Singapore, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Leena’s full profile. It’s free!