Joe Ferrara's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joe’s full profile.

Overview

  • 5 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Engineer, Entrepreneur, Triathlete
  • BS, Masters of Global Management
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a 27 year old triathlete turned bicycle tourist. I quit my job on August 18th as an aerospace engineer. I have embarked on an open-ended bike tour from my home in West Hartford CT. I biked down the east coast and across the southern half of the country. Now I’m hiking the pacific crest trail.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am a fitness enthusiast who runs a travel and triathlon website. I am a world traveler who has ventured to many parts of the globe. I want to inspire people to discover fitness at home and maintain it on the road. As a nutrition certified (Precision Nutrition) professional, I hope to help people eat better, live better, and live longer. This tour is about connecting with people to help them integrate fitness into their lives. Exercise should center around passion! It should never be a "chore." I want to show people that you can eat healthy, exercise, and live the life you want. I want to spread my passion as I bike from place to place.

Interests

I am a fitness enthusiast who loves all outdoor activities. Anytime I'm outside I'm happy. I get into all sorts of outdoor activities in the winter and summer. I love exploring new cities and finding local spots. I am a huge foodie who loves to explore the local cuisine.

I'm happy anytime I can get into a great conversation over a beer and a meal.

  • fitness
  • triathlon
  • running
  • reading
  • podcasts
  • hiking
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • road trips
  • food
  • football
  • biking
  • health
  • healthy food
  • bicycle touring
  • nutrition
  • cycle touring

Music, Movies, and Books

The Peaceful Warrior changed the way I think about the world. I apply so many of the lessons to my own life and try to live by its values. Lord of the Rings has always been my favorite books/movies since I was a kid. I enjoy the adventure and story. They inspire me to get out and have my own adventure.

I am a huge alternative rock fan especially the bands of the late 90s/2000s. I grew up listening to Blink 182, Yellowcard, Taking Back Sunday, and the trend continues.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I finished my first half ironman in 5 hours and 22 minutes!

Teach, Learn, Share

I have my nutrition certification so I am always trying to learn more about fitness and nutrition. I want to share my love by learning more about how people eat, live, and exercise. Everyone is different and there is no single approach. By seeing how you stay healthy, I can help others.

What I Can Share with Hosts

During my stay, I would be more than willing to help you cook a healthy meal, help with home improvements, or just drink some good craft beer! I love talking and learning about someone and their story.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belize, Canada, Ecuador, Italy, Mexico, Peru, Singapore, Spain, Thailand, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Ecuador, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Joe’s full profile.