Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 8 References 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in German; learning English
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • PhD student
  • happily forgotten most of it :)
  • From Aachen
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


overcome my laziness and wander under the rising sun


Still thinking of a way to put [current_year - 1982] years into a few sentences...


I can't access the corresponding brain domains right now - let's talk about that while eating good food and drink one or two good bottles of wine :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


By being a member of CS! Offer a couch if I have one and surfing others.


I am an experienced couch surfer, but a beginner in the CS community.


physics, ecology, cooking, programming, sports(Tai Chi, rock climbing, running, cycling, ski- and snowboarding) [doing it, not watching it]
Did I mention cooking?
Also, baking.
Hanging around in a park is nice.
Reading books as well.
Maybe writing one in the future would be fun.
I also like eating the food I have cooked, but maybe that's just an excuse to cook :)

...and basically everything...

  • writing
  • books
  • dining
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • wine
  • baking
  • running
  • drinking
  • reading
  • guitar
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • ecology
  • mathematics
  • physics

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Ska, Rock, Indie, Classic, Jazz

Books: Everything from Terry Pratchett, Niel Gaiman, JRR Tolkien, ..., there are much too many...
Last good books I read: The Web of Life, and Fragile Things

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Diving the liberty wreck in Bali.
And filling this field to send a couch request!

Teach, Learn, Share

I like cooking and baking and sharing recipes.
Also, I could teach you German, physics, math and some computer stuff and I know three sailor's knots!

I would like to learn to play guitar, teach me if you can!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Croatia, Denmark, France, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Switzerland

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups