Logo orange

Ivan De la Torre

Lleida, Catalonia, Spain

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ivan's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 58 Positive References
  • Fluent in Catalan, Valencian, English, English, Spanish, Spanish; learning German
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Teaching
  • B.A. English Studies/ M.A. Spanish a...
  • From Lleida, Catalonia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Explore

ABOUT ME

I am 33. I have devoted most of my life to teaching or being taught. Completing my master's degree next school year and back to classroom in September after a long break. I have been changing settings of lately and been somewhat disconnected from the net. I will be back hitting the road again soon and hopefully back to hosting next fall.

PHILOSOPHY

If you think you understood the whole information in a book after reading it, it's probably because some of the information from it was missing (Chinese proverb).

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Couchsurfing has been one of my leitmotivs in the last years of my life. I have surfed, hosted and chaperoned several people in different parts of the world getting always positive things from others. Despite having become a more mainstream thing with people just caring about crashing at your place for the evening without ever leaving a reference, I still believe in the ideals of Couchsurfing as many other fellow travelers do. I was an active member of my community while in Dallas where I could see those ideals prevail every Thursday.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

So far I've received guests from South Korea, Spain, Belgium, Mexico, Brazil, Sweden, China, Russia, Britain and France and have been helping out lots of people writing for tips about places I have lived/visited. I have surfed couches in Denmark, Germany, the US, Jamaica, Barbados, Cuba, Grenada, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru and Bolivia. Hopefully I will carry on with the experience wherever life may lead me to.

Interests

Travelling, reading, photography, politics, music, cinema, plastic arts, learning, languages, cultural studies, soccer, rugby, sports, etc.

Music, Movies & Books

I like European cinema and independent movies. Some good Hollywood films may be included among my preferences, too. As for music, I listen anything with black musicians/singers in it. I'm crazy about books, actually I believe that reading and travelling are two unique ways of approaching the world out there.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Buddhist temples in Japan, Sealife in Iceland, Inuit lifestyles in Finland, Mexican hospitality, Rafting in a glacier in Island, interrailing Eastern Europe for 5 weeks, living in Britain, Bedouin camping in Wadi Rum, Holy strolls in Jerusalem, market chats in the Palestinian West Bank, chicken busing in Guatemala and Honduras, zip-lining over coffee groves and climbing flaming Pacaya in Guatemala, coffee roasting and Blue Mountain climbing in Jamaica, singing that blues in Memphis, offroad driving in Punta Allen, snorkeling in Palancar Reef Barrier, climbing stunning Mayan ruins in Guatemala and Mexico, visiting the world's largest city, island hopping in the Caribbean, being on an island on my own in St Vincent & The Grenadines, local life in Dominica, feeling the streets of NY, Yellowstone colors, Cuba and everything it entails, road tripping in Belize, people in Central America, wandering around the islands in Nicaragua, exploring wildlife in Costa Rica, feeling the nights in Colombia, Galapagos, adventures in the Andes, Salar de Uyuni etc.
I believe there's something special going on everyday everywhere and I just wanna be there.

Teach, Learn, Share

I've been teaching languages since 2002, plus I have some interesting travelling experiences to share.

Countries I've Visited

Andorra, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Latvia, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Palestine, Panama, Peru, Poland, Puerto Rico, Romania, Russian Federation, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Ivan's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile